Posted in Books, Wrap-Up

October TBR

So I’m back at uni, I have two normal modules, a dissertation to write and some sort of NaNoWriMo prep work, because of course I want to heap more onto my plate, but is that going to stop me having an overambitious TBR? Of course not!

My term time TBR’s consist of 4 different categories so there is some semblance of order amongst this chaos; Paperback, Kindle, Audible and Required Reading (which I won’t include here)

Audible is always the easiest because I have a one book a month subscription, so this month I will be listening to…

           Six of Crows by Leigh BARDUGO

Even though this is in my September Wrap Up, I haven’t actually quite finished the audiobook. Also, because of the timing of my subscription I won’t get my new book till right at the end of the month anyway since I’ll usually make the last a month.

Kindle:

  1. Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2) by Leigh BARDUGO
  2. Golden Son (Red Rising #2) by Pierce BROWN
  3. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire SAENZ

As you can see the first two are the second book in the series, the final in the duologue in the case of Crooked Kingdom, which is always a terrifying prospect. Not wanting to spoil Red Rising all I can say is they are adult sci-fi, set on Mars and is probably the best sci-fi I’ve ever read. Aristotle and the longest title in the world is a Young-Adult (or YA) contemporary set around two teens called Aristotle and Dante. I don’t know much about the plot other than that, but I have seen some really beautiful quotes on Tumblr.

Paperback:

  1. Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices #1) by Cassandra CLARE
  2. Clockwork Prince (The Infernal Devices #2) by Cassandra CLARE
  3. Clockwork Prince (The Infernal Devices #3) by Cassandra CLARE

This is the complete Infernal Devices trilogy by the fabulous Cassie CLARE, and will be a re-read. These are books which I pretty much read on an annual basis because they are just THAT good. If you’ve read any Shadowhunter books before you’ll be familiar with the set up, but I don’t think it’s crucial. These are YA Historical-Fantasy novels entered around girl who discovers she had the ability to shape-shift into other people in 19th century London. Because of this she learns that she is part of the shadow-world, a world that is invisible to the ‘muggle’ eye but exists along side our own, consisting of all the usual suspects in urban fantasy, including people who kill demons, known as Shadowhunters. I’m excited to read these again, they’re really fun and fast-paced while still maintain an authentic feel for the historical aspect, even if the snipers of Welsh are a tad dodgy. Also because Jem is my baby.

Hopefully I will complete this list, my NaNo prep work, begin my dissertation and two other essays for my other modules… Like I said, hopefully. What do you plan on reading this month?

One thought on “October TBR

Leave a Reply

