Book Review: The Infernal Devices by Cassandra CLARE

“One must always be careful of books […] and what is inside them, for words have the power to change us” — Clockwork Angel

As I tend to read theses one after another, like a bag of sweets you can’t help but finished, I decided to review the series as a whole, spoiler free, of course. Enjoy!

The Infernal Devices is a trilogy of historical fantasy novels by Cassandra CLARE set in the world of the Shadowhunters, this time in 19th century London. In case your unfamiliar with the Shadow-world, the basic concept is that there are a are of warriors, very attractive warriors for the most part, who kill demons in order to protect mundanes muggles humans. Here our main protagonist is a young American called Tessa Grey, who discovers that she has some unusual powers and falls in with the Shadowhunters. Let me break it down for you.

infernal-devices
The new covers, and much prettier than the originals.

Book 1: Clockwork Angel [4 stars]

Book 2: Clockwork Prince [4 stars]

Book 3: Clockwork Princess [4 stars] (someone pass me the tissues)

Without repeating what a hundred other reviewers have said about this trilogy, it is sort of perfection wrapped up into three books and tied with a bow Even if you’ve read Cassie CLARE before and thought it was a bit ‘meh‘, give Clockwork Angel a try. I read City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1) and was not sold at all, but I fell in love with the world in this trilogy. Since then I’ve been reading, and re-reading, as much Cassie CLARE as I can get my hands on. Honestly, I don’t know why I didn’t give any of these books five stars, I thought I had so I’m a little baffled but I like to stick to my original rating so…

I feel like I should mention the reading order, in regard to the other Shadowhunter books, but like I said I didn’t follow the reading order at all, so no pressure. Officially, its City of Bones, City of Ashes, City of Glass, Clockwork angel, Clockwork Prince, Clockwork Princess, City of Fallen Angels, City of Lost Souls and City of Heavenly Fire. Do with that what you will. If you are already familiar with the world then you will pick up on some little things mentioned in the trilogy, but there are no spoilers for The Mortal Instruments in The Infernal Devices.

There are many reasons I love this series but even more reasons that I can’t quite pinpoint. Admittedly, a large portion of those reasons are Jem Carstairs related. I am definitely in love with Jem, he is right up there with Dorian Havilliard, to the point that I sort of smile every time he appears. But though I am a Jem girl, it’s impossible to ignore Will Herondale completely. As a Welsh girl I love seeing the language pop up, and even though it looks like it’s been translated by Google Translate, I appreciate the effort to include it. Which probably says more about the lack of Welsh representation in books than anything else. One of my favourite aspects of any of Cassie’s Shadowhunter books is that parabatai bond, which, if you don’t know, is a bond between a pair of warriors that helps them be better fighters. Jace and Alec’s relationship in terms of their bond was great and now we have Will and Jem. What this means in layman’s terms is that they are best friends forever, and this friendship is so perfectly illustrated.

Tessa Gray is our protagonist in this series and she’s pretty good, she’s not my favourite because she can be a little bland at times but she doesn’t detract from the story at all. Even though she’s our protagonist he story line is probably the least surprising, but I think that says way more about the shockers in some of the other story lines that it does about her. She loves to read, and she is one of the least annoying fictional readers that I have come across (I tend to find protagonist who love to read a little annoying). Luckily the bonds and friendships she creates with the others characters redeems her.

I laughed out loud, read parts to family who couldn’t car less about theses books and still reference them even though they just roll their eyes at me. I cried, more than once, actual tears running down my face and I couldn’t stop reading. This series had one of the mot satisfying conclusions ever in a trilogy. If i could force you to read this book I would. I’ve bought more than one copy so I can do just that

So, to recap. Jem is BAE, Will is Welsh and this is one of my favourite trilogies.

Have you read this series? What do you think? What’s your favourite part of the shadow-world?

Thanks for reading!

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Infernal Devices by Cassandra CLARE

Comments are closed.