Posted in Books, Wrap-Up

October Wrap Up

And so the month of October draws to a close. I think it was a pretty good month for me, of course September was so bad it didn’t take much to beat it. What did I read? I read 8 books and managed to make it through 6 of my TBR, which is definitely more than I was expecting. Well done me! Let me break it down for you.


My first priority for this month was Six of Crows [🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟], which I technically finished in September, and Crooked Kingdom [🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟], a duology by Leigh Bardugo.

2343715622299763

The series is a YA fantasy that revolves around an impossible heist and an amazing cast of characters. Six of Crows was a re-read, in audiobook form and I really enjoyed the multiple narrators in the audiobook, is was something different to the audiobooks that I usually listen to but definitely a welcome change. This was a fantastic little series and I gave both a fabulous five stars each, and review Crooked Kingdom because I don’t think it’s getting enough love at the moment.

Next, I re-read The Infernal Devices trilogy, so Clockwork Angel [🌟🌟🌟🌟],  Clockwork Prince  [🌟🌟🌟🌟] and Clockwork Princess  [🌟🌟🌟🌟] by Cassandra Clare.

infernal-devicesThis YA Historical Urban Fantasy (is that enough genres for you?) is one of my favourite trilogies and what got me invested in the Shadowhunter universe. And I also reviewed this series so feel free to check that out (Just click above on The Infernal Devices).

Then came The Strange Case of Doctor Jekyll and Mr Hyde  [🌟🌟] by Robert Louis Stevenson, which was for school. I’d read it before and didn’t like it, I still don’t particularly love it but I will say that it’s very short, with time chapters, so it does have that going. I don’t think I’m really a fan of Robert Louis Stevenson in general, I wasn’t a huge fan of Treasure Island, so maybe that’s why. I also read The Time Machine,[🌟🌟🌟] for the same module, another re-read in my case, and it was okay but not something that I’m going to rush to read again .

Continuing from last month’s re-read of Red Rising cam the sequel, Golden Son [🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟], both by the very attractive Pierce Brown.These are pure sci-fi set, who know how 18966819many hundreds of years into the future, where earth was used up and the lower class reds, are busy mining helium in order to terraform Mars. I can’t really say much more than then because of spoilers. But I will say that much like fantasy, these books do need your full attention and I don’t know what I would do without the x-ray function of my kindle because it can be hand sometimes to keep track of who is who. But once I learned who the new key players were… I don’t even know how many twists and turns there were in this little gem. I cannot wait to read the conclusion to the trilogy!

Next I finally got around to read Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz, which I loved, [🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟]. This is a YA contemporary involving 15801353our protagonist, Aristotle, or Ari, and his friendship with Dante over the course of just over a year. Even though I’m 20 now, I felt such a connection with Ari, a 15 year old Mexican-American living in Texas. Who would’ve thought it? I guess there are themes in this book that will probably appeal to everyone, because haven’t you felt like you don’t understand the world a some point? I loved how the author brought together all theses different strands hat ultimately make Ali who he is. I read this book in one day, yes I probably should have been doing other things but I don’t regret it, and yes, it made me cry.

So all in all I am back on track with my average of 8 books a month after the disaster that is commonly knows as September and will her forth be stricken from the records. Without a doubt my favourite of the month was Crooked Kingdom and least favourite probably The Time Machine, but I didn’t have a choice with that one.

What was the best book that you read during October? Have you read Crooked Kingdom yet? Have you read my review?

Thanks for reading! xoxo

 

 

Leave a Reply

