Posted in Books, TBR

November TBR

So we’ve actually reached November, the month of dissertation writing, essay writing and, of course NaNoWriMo. God help me.

Audible:

28095737

  1. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, read by Rosamund Pike.

I’ve actually already started this, I started it back in the summer but just never finished it. Despite the fact that I am an English Literature student, read loads of classics, I’v never managed to finish this. I’ve started reading my Kindle copy a couple of times, I listened to 3/4 of the Radio 4 adaptation, but every time it just sort of falls by the wayside. But not this time.

Kindle:

  1. Night Film by Marisha Pessel
  2.  Prince of Fools by Mark Lawrence
  3.  A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E Schwab
  4. Hallowe’en Party by Agatha Christie.

I wanted to read Night Film for Halloween since it’s a thriller but thought I’d better wait until I got home in case it’s a little on the scary side. Because I get scared super easily. This is a thriller set around the death of reclusive cult horror directors daughter, where, of course, not all is at it seems.I’ve seen some really good reviews for this book and, though I’ve read a fair few murder mysteries, this one seems intriguing.

Prince of Fools is an epic fantasy about an impending war (of course) through the kingdom of the most feared Red Queen. Our narrative follows Jal, her grandson and tenth in line to the throne who, let’s face it, will be going on some sort of quest. Jar, is apparently a bit of a sort and those are the kinds of characters I love, so I’m really hoping this is going to be very character driven.

It seems like everyone and their brother have read A Darker Shade of Magic so it’s finally my turn. I only discovered V.E Schwab this year but I have loved everything I’ve read from her so far, and this seems to be most people’s favourite. In his YA fantasy we follow Kell, a magician who has the power tot ravel between alternate versions of London. I know I’m going to love it, and I’ve already bought the sequel.

Finally, and a bit of a late addition comes Hallowe’en Party by the queen of crime, Agatha Christie. It you’ve never read anything for Christie before, then you need to get on that right now because this is the epitome of the perfect murder mystery. Here we follow Poirot, as he investigates the drowning of a girl in a bobbing-for-apples bucket who claims to have witnessed a murder. It has everything you want in a murder mystery and it’s perfect for this time of year.

Hardcopy:

  1. Hero of Ages by Brandon Sanderson
  2. The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch
  3. Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

First I’ve got Hero of Ages, the final book in the epic fantasy (high fantasy? Is there a difference) Mistborn trilogy. The minute I began the first one, I knew that I was in ,love with Sanderson’s world and writing style, and I don’t expect that to change anytime soon. For obvious spoiler reasons I can’t tell you what it’s about, just that it’s a continuation of the story in a world where certain classes have magical powers relation to metal, and you should definitely read it. Especially if you love really interesting magic systems.

Continuing in this vein of fantasy comes The Lies of Locke Lamora, the first in The Gentleman Bastards series (I was basically sold when I heard the name). I’ve heard this described as Robin Hood meets Ocean’s Eleven, which basically reminds me of Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo, one of my favourite books of the year.  It enters around orphan con-man Lock Lamora as he leads his crew,  The Gentleman Bastards and I really don’t care about the main plot. This concept is intriguing enough as it stands.

Finally I want to re-read Empire of Storms since I have a signed paperback and it was too amazing to take everything in the first time. I feel like overtime I make a post I mention this book, but here goes yet another vague summary. This is the 5th book in the Throne of Glass series, in which a kingdom renowned assassin, 17 year old Celaena Sardothien, competes to become the King’s Champion, and her adventures as a result. You can find more about this in last month’s wrap up, but needless to say it was awesome.

As you can see my TBR is a little smaller than my usual… Who am I kidding, I can not show any restraint, but I definitely do not expect to be getting through all of it. My priorities this month are with writing since I’ll have two essays, NaNoWriMo and at least some of my dissertation. I’ve tried to put a load of fantasy on here because my NaNo novel is a fantasy one so it should help me to write if I’m already in that frame of mind.

What do you plan on reading this month? Do you intend to participate in NaNoWriMo? What are your favourite fantasy novels?

Thanks for reading! xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

