October Book Haul

Hmm, it seems book hauls are just an opportunity for me to think to myself, did you really NEED to buy all of those books this month? Ready, set, let’s go. Oh, I should point out that all of these book are on my kindle, so I haven’t actually spent as much as you might think.

First of all I got Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan, which is the first book in his new children’s urban fantasy series revolving around Norse mythology. As far as I know this is in the same vein as his Percy Jackson series, so our main character will be a demigod and I’m sure there will be some sort of quest involved. I love Rick Riordan’s, and the little I know about Norse mythology (admittedly mostly from the Marvel films) is really interesting, so this is sure to be a winner.

Next came Anno Dracula by Kim Newman, which I bought solely because I like vampires, I like them enough that I’m writing a 10,000 words dissertation on them. Anno Dracula is almost urban fantasy, but more of an alternative historical fiction, with Vlad Tepes (a.k.a Vlad the Impaler, inspiration for Dracula) as Queen Victoria’s new consort. Does this sound interesting enough yet?

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin, is one that I’ve had my eye on for a while, and is the first book in a YA urban fantasy trilogy. Our protagonist Mara, wake sup in hospital with no memory of what happened, only that her best friend is dead. Cue mysterious paranormal activity, maybe a good read for Halloween?

Continuing with the creepy Halloween theme I saw that Agatha Christie’s Hallowe’en Party was on sale, and I definitely couldn’t resit that one. I love, love love, anything by Agatha Christie, it’s definitely how I like my murder mysteries, cosy in front of the fire and wrapped up with a nice bow at the end.

Another trilogy that I’ve had my eye on for a while is the Daughter of Smoke and Bone  trilogy by Laini Taylor, so thats Daughter of Smoke and Bone, Days of Blood and Starlight and Dreams of Gods and Monsters. This trilogy is a YA fantasy set around devils and angels, and maybe Nephilium, as in their off-spring not as in actual shadowhunters. I know a lot of people who really love this series and with my love for this type of urban fantasy, I think I’ll love it too.

As a long time fan of the Hamilton soundtrack, a musical about one of the lesser known founding fathers of the U.S, when I saw that the biography it was based on was finally on sale I was straight in there. Hamilton by Ron Chernow is a beastly 800 page biography, which for someone who rarely reads non-fiction is very intimidation, but I’m hoping that my love for the musical will get me through.

Next comes another YA urban fantasy (does it surprise you that this is my favourite genre?) in the shape of The Next Together by Lauren James. This is the story of Katherine and Matthew, who meet, fall in love, die, reborn and the cycle starts again. This sounds similar to the premise of Fallen by Lauren Kate, which I loved, only with less of a focus on saving the world, I guess. Basically it seems like the perfect combination of contemporary romance and urban fantasy, or maybe sci-fi it depends how the time travel element plays out.

And the final book I acquired is the sequel to A Darker Shade of Magic, by the wonderful V.E Schwab, which is called A Gathering of Shadows. Since I haven’t read A Darker Shade of Magic yet, I haven’t even looked at the summary for this. all I know is this Urban Fantasy series involves multiple versions of London, and our main character Ell can travel between them. I started reading V.E Schwab at the beginning of the year with Vicious and I was instantly sold, so that every time I see her name on something, I’ll buy it.

And that, as they say, is that, the 10 books that I bought this month. What did you get this month? Which of them are you most excited to read?

Thanks for reading!

