Hello NaNoWriMo 2016

Hold on to your hats because NaNoWriMo 2016 has begun! That’s right guys and gals, at this very moment I am attempting to write a 50,000 word novel. God help me!

This is going to be a super short post, for a change, because I don’t really have anything to say, I just thought that I should acknowledge that time is a-ticking on those daily word counts.

Of course I would love, love, love to be able to stand up on the 1st of December and say that I won NaNoWriMo, but I doubt that’s going to happen. Instead I am going o be pretty damn chuffed if I can say that I wrote 30,000 words during this month. I’ll still be aiming for the 1,667 words a day but I know there will be days when I don’t come near to that.

I’ve had a bit of an issue with my story, which hasn’t come as a total surprise. I hate it. I’ve never written fantasy before so I think the problem lies in my lack of world building. Either way I dragged myself kicking and screaming through four days worth of this novel when I realised that there was no way in hell I would survive the month. So, what did I do? I threw the novel out of the window. Not literally, one, because it’s written on my laptop,and secondly, because I need those words to count towards my final word-count. Instead I decided that as long as I write the 1,667 words each day, who acres if it’s not part of a complete novel. I’ve jotted down some super quick writing prompts mostly related to other little bits that I work on just for fun, some more in the vein of fan-fiction than others and hopefully this will see me through to the end of the month. I’ve decided that as long as I reach my personal goal of 30,000 I’ll be happy and who knows, maybe I’ll even reach that illusive 50,000. Stranger things have happened at sea.

So, good luck to me and if you’re taking part this year good luck to you too. If you have any questions about NaNoWriMo or about my writing process in general I will be more than happy to procrastinate and answer them instead of whatever I should be doing. And that goes for pretty much anything!

Are you taking part this year? Have you taken part in the past? Do you like to write in your spare time?

Thanks for reading!

