December TBR

It’s here, I’m finally posting this super late TBR. But it’s actually here!

Audible:

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K Rowling

27876199

Narrated by Stephen Fry this will finish off my year long re-read of the Harry Potter books on Audible. I might keep over in shock if you didn’t know that this is the final book in the Harry Potter series, and that Harry is off on the hunt for Horcruxes. There is no one on the earth that has a better voice to read Harry Potter to me than Stephen Fry does, somehow he brings these books to life all over again and I cannot wait until I hear that All was well.

 

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Look who’s back. Back again. I still haven’t finished this but I 28095737promise I will do it by the end of the year. To be fair I am about halfway through so I just need to power through those last 5 hours of Rosamund Pike’s voice. Pride and Prejudice must be one of the most famous books in the English language, but isn’t something many people have actually read, al least from my experience. So I am ready to finally read/listen for myself at how exactly Mr Darcy and Elizabeth Bennet overcome their pride and predudice.

 

Kindle:

Let it Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson and Lauren Myracle

18272314

This is one of my favourite Christmas themed books, and is actually three short stories (One each per author) that aren’t directly related but sort of brush up against one another. Beginning on Christmas Eve during a snow storm with a girl trying to get home, and stems from there, with some teacup pigs and an interesting trip to get some waffles. This is one of those really cute contemporary stories that just make you feel warm and fuzzy inside, and easy to dip in and out if you haven’t got time for the whole thing.

 

 

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

22819449.jpgYou knew I had to get Leigh Bardugo in here somehow, didn’t you? So I will be  re-reading this YA fantasy because I finally have all three books in the trilogy and I want to get through them. You know I love everything about Leigh Bardugo and even though this is a completely different story (Alina surprises everyone when she discovers she is a sun-summoner) with completely different characters (Alina, Mal and The Darkling) it is set in the same world. This series is also more concentrated on the magic system, which took a bit more of a backseat in the Six of Crows duology.

 

Hallowe’en Party by Agatha Christie

27859259

This was on last months TBR and i stupidly decided to start reading it on November 30th, so I obviously haven’t quite finished it. It’s a Poirot murder mystery investigated a young girl who is drowned in an apple-bobbing bucket hours after claiming to have see a murder. It’s classic Christie and perfect for all who love a cosy fireside murder mystery.

 

 

David Copperfield by Charles Dickens

58696.jpg

What is more festive that a bit of Charles Dickens? Originally I planned to read Great Expectations, then I changed my mind to A Tale of Two Cities, both of which I’ve read before and I love, but this turned out to be the book of the month in a bookclub that I’m a part of. In David Copperfield we have your standard bildungsroman of said character and his adventures. We start off with David’s birth, after the death of his father an follow him through the following ups and downs of his life. It’s a monster of a book, but I’m going to do my best, and hopefully Dickens’ writing will pull me through.

 

Hardcopy:

Varney the Vampyre or The Feast of Blood by James Malcolm Rymer

7689323This is actually some reading for my dissertation that I haven’t quite finished (to be fair it over 1000 pages) but I’m putting it on here for motivation. This is a vampire story (obviously) that was originally published as a penny dreadful in the latter half of the 19th century. If you like melodrama, and have plenty of time on your hands, this would definitely be right up your alley, and really quite like it. It’s also the first instance f a sympathetic vampire, which is really interesting, a sit is so early. I’m around 600 pages in, so only the second half of the book to go. Wish me luck!

 

The Tresspaser by Tana French

28273664

Another one that I have started and I’m sorry to say that this is actually an ARC sent to me for review in September and I haven’t finished it. I do wasn’t to finished this murder mystery, it’s much darker and grittier than Agatha Christie, and I have read other books in this series before so I just know that the ending will be brilliant.In this case we follow Detective Antoinette Conway as she investigates the death of a woman beaten to death in the midst of what appears to be a date at her own home. Even though I had to temporarily DNF this book I am eager to find out who the killer is, so long as it doesn’t get to conspiracy-y.

 

The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch

Final865293ly, I’m almost halfway through this high fantasy novel about a
bunch of confidence
tricksters in a fantasy city that sounds kind of like Venice. I love anything involving, thieves, heists of con-men (Hello, Six of Crows
duology), so I adore this little band of merry men. Like, I said, I am almost halfway through and there is some more magic based involvement, but there had been a lot of underworld politics at play too, and I love political intrigue especially within a criminal underworld.

 

So, there you have it. A lot of these book I really love, but I just haven’t had the time to finish them. As you can tell for the most part this is a mad dash to wrap things up ready for the new year, so I can begin 2017 with a clear TBR, or clear-ish.

Have you read any of these books? What are you reading in December?

Thanks for reading!

 

