Christmas Recommendations

I’ve got my fairy lights turned on, my yankee candles lit and I’m drinking a glass of mulled cider, and I bring you a couple of my favourite holiday reads.

Great Expectation by Charles Dickens

13641547.jpgMaybe it’s just me but there is something about Charles Dickens that I think is just so Christmassy, and while this is no A Christmas Carol, it is one of my favourites for the season. In case you have managed to avoid this so far, Great Expectation follows Phillip Pirrip, or Pip, a young blacksmith’s nephew as he finds himself bankrolled my a mysterious benefactor. Beginning with an encounter with an escaped criminal, that has a profound effect on Pip’s life from there on out, I quite like a chubby Victorian novel to settle down with and this is one I always come back to.

Let it Snow by John Green, Lauren Myracle and Maureen Johnson

18272314Since this is on my TBR for the month I have already spoken about this, but to recap it is three short stories that take place on or around christmas. Although they’re not directly connected they sort of brush up on each other, but can be read as individual stories. They all stem from the same framework, that being, that it’s Christmas eve and a storm forces a train to halt. From then on we have on girls determination to get home in time for Christmas, a trip to get some waffles, and teacup pigs. I really enjoyed all three of these stories and the way in which they sort of interact but stand alone t the same time.

My True Love Gave To Me edited by Stephanie Perkins

22914373Since sort stories seem to be the trend for the festive season, here come twelve of them from popular YA authors, and edited by Stephanie Perkins. It you’re into short story collections then you probably know that you never like every one of them, but as far as I can remember there was only one or two that I really didn’t like. however, they are short stories so  its not like it’s a huge time investment and you can dip in and out of this book as you please. The majority of these are just cute contemporary Christmas romances, what more too you want?

Poirot’s Christmas by Agatha Christie

16349.jpgFinally, and probably the one I’ve read the most is my favourite Hercule Poirot mystery, that revolves around a family gathered together for Christmas. The patriarch of the family was a diamond miner and happens to like keeping some handout diamonds at hand, oh, and he hates pretty much everyone in his family, so there’s that. Agatha Christie books are cosy murder mysteries that are perfect for this time of the year. I also love the Tv adaptation with David Suchet, so it you don’t have time for the book, that is definitely worth a watch. After all, what is Christmas without a little bit of murder?

What is your favourite Christmas read? Do you agree with my picks?

Thanks for reading!

 

 

