Posted in Haul

December Book Haul

December is my favourite time of the year, and here are the books that I bought for myself this month.

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

29415084.jpgTechnically bought in November, it was just a tad too late to get onto my last haul, so I figured it would do for this month. Morgan Matson, has written some great summery YA contemporaries, like Amy and Roger’s epic Detour and Since You’ve Been Gone, and that is exactly what this one is. This follows Andie, an A-star student who is thrown off her pedestal by some sort of scandal. As a result her summer plans have disappeared, and the is left with all this free time and nothing to do with it, a foreign concept for such type-A personality. Since there’s usually a cute romance, I will be expecting one, and I’ll probably wait till Summer to read all about it.

Nocturnal Animals (or Tony and Susan) by Austin Wright

32930916After seeing the trailer for the Tom Ford directed film adaptation, with Amy Adams and Jake Gyllenhall, I was really eager to see it. But, as per, I ended up not finding the time and bought the book instead. Previously published as Tony and SusanNocturnal Animas is a thriller, following Susan, now a doctor’s wife, as she receives a package from her ex-husband, containing the manuscript for a novel that he’s written and in the process of publishing. From her on in the narrative is split into three, Susan reading the book (the present), the story within the story (the manuscript), and also a look back at her relationship with her ex-husband Edward (the past). I’m looking forward to seeing how these three narratives intersect, and always love a story within a story.

We All Looked Up by Tommy Wallach

18392459In a YA contemporary, that ventures into the world of sci-fi, the world is about to be destroyed by an asteroid, Tommy Wallach asks us, what we would do if we knew the world was coming to an end. Two months are all four teenagers have left, and even I am wondering how this is going to play out. Despite the asteroid I get the feeling that this is going to lean more toward the coming-of-age type of story, and I can only hope it has the same sort of impact as my favourite coming-of-age, The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. This is all you get from the blurb, so hopefully, since this seems character driven, the characters will be vivid and fleshed out.

Beautiful Player (Beautiful Bastard #3) by Christina Lauren

17831614This is a new-adult contemporary romance, emphasis on the new-adult, and definitely not suitable for younger readers. Despite technically being a part of a series, each book follows a different couple, so in Beautiful Player we get two fresh faces in Hanna and Will. Hanna is a grad student, who’s a bit of a bookworm looking to get out of her comfort zone, when she meets her brother’s friend, Will, a playboy venture capitalist. Yes, these books can be predictable, full of cheesy moments and happy endings but I love them. They’re super quick, definitely addictive and I am all over anything that I can ship. These books aren’t going to will an Pultizer anytime soon, but they’re really we-written for what they are, and I love them.

American Gods by Neil Gaiman

18161930.jpgFrom my experience, Neil Gaiman has his own unique brand of fantasy, but this does make the set-up a little complicated. Out protagonist is a man called Shadow, recently released from prison in an urban-fantasy setting, that leans heavier on the fantasy side. After meeting another man, Mr Wednesday, who claims to be a god, the two set off on a road trip across the USA, as Shadow makes his way home, while the supernatural surrounds them. Honestly, this sounds epic, but I do feel like it’s the sort of book you have to throw yourself wholeheartedly into the concept. I love the idea of Neil Gaiman, and I love both the film adaptation and original book of Stardust, so I’m hoping I’m going to love this just as much.

Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson

17727802Do you like superheroes? Because this is a sci-fi book about just that. From the author of the epic-fantasy, Mistborn trilogy, Brandon Sanderson introduces us to a word where after a certain event it becomes possible for men and women to possess superpowers. These people are called Epics, and are revered by the muggles of the world, but it seems that the Epics aren’t as nice as they seem. As luck would have it there is a band of rebels, the Reckoners, who are willing to take on the Epics. As a huge fan of both Marvel, and DC (judge me if you must) I am all over the superhero craze at the moment and am super excited to see Sanderson’s take on the genre.

Clockwork Prince and Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices #2 & #3) by Cassandra Clare

infernal-devicesCassandra Clare’s Shadowhunter world is one that I can never get enough of and, even though I already own these books in paperback, when I saw that the Kindle editions were a daily deal I jumped at the chance. This YA historical-fantasy series takes place in Victorian England, where an American girl with the ability to shape shift falls in with a group of Nephilim (Humans, with Ange blood) whose purpose in life is to hunt down and kill the demos that slip between dimensions. Since I have already read these, a couple of times, you can check out my SPOILER FREE series review HERE.

Keep an eye out for a special Christmas Book Haul and, as always, thanks for Reading!

Leave a Reply

