Posted in Haul

January Haul

In an effort to control the amount of books I have hanging around (and maybe even save some money) I’m trying to stick to the ‘read 5, buy 1’ system. I saw this a few years ago in a YouTube video but I just can’t remember whose it was. I think it’s pretty self-explanatory, but what it means is that yo have to read 5 books, before you can buy one. I’m hoping that this will mean my TBR will be super low by the end of 2017.

fullsizeoutput_259

Kindle:

The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman

27074515I actually bought this in paperback the same time as I bought An Ember in the Ashes but just haven’t got around to reading it. Since I read much more on my kindle (and this was free for some reason) I though having it might motivate me to read it. Not that it makes all that much difference but because it was free and already on my TBR I’m not counting this toward my challenge. The Dark Days Club is a YA Historical Fantasy and sounds to me a lot like The Infernal Devices but in the Regency era, rather than the Victorian era. After a mysterious disappearance Lady Helen joins forces with, the hopefully very attractive, William, Earl of Carston, to uncover the culprits. I’m not sure where exactly they come into play but I’m pretty sure there are demons here somewhere, and I love demon-hunting.

Vein of Love by R. Scarlett

30182619This was another freebie on kindle, so how could I say no? As you can probably tell from the cover Vein of Love is not suitable for the children but does look like a fun (and sexy) urban fantasy romance. Molly Darling, has recently discovered that she has been betrothed to a demon. Yep, that happened. I’m going to go out on a limb here and say that this demon, Tensley Knight, is, luckily a demon of the sexy variety. I love an anti-hero, especially if they’re gorgeous, so this should be a lot of fun. I’m pretty sure there will be some sort of over-arching storyline but to be honest I’m just reading for the romance.

Paperback:

The Hamilton Affair by Elizabeth Cobbs

28695340.jpgThis was bought for me, so again doesn’t really count toward my new years resolution, and is a historical fiction version of the lives of Alexander Hamilton and Eliza Schuyler. It’s not secret that I am obsessed with Lin-Manuel Miranda’s Hamilton: An American Musical, so a friend saw this and thought of me. As far as I can tell there’s going to be a strong focus on the romance aspect, which I am perfectly okay wit. I’m really interested in seeing both the similarities and differences between these two different interpretations, especially when it comes to Say No To This and The Reynolds Pamphlet, and how Hamilton justifies his actions.

fullsizeoutput_259

And that’s it, that’s all I bought, of haven’t bought, which is a good start to 2017, as far as I see things. What did you buy this month?

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “January Haul

  1. So far I have stuck to my book buying ban (except for my owlcrate subscription box). I like your “read 5 buy 1” plan. The only problem I have is that I can’t just buy 1 book. If I go to buy one, either in the store or online, I almost always end buying more than I meant to…..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

