Posted in Books, Wrap-Up

March Wrap-Up

It’s time to say goodbye to the month of March, and to my final proper term at university. Crazy! I had a pretty good reading month, and seemed to absolutely fly though these books, managing to read 10 books in total.

fullsizeoutput_259

Broken Dolls (Jefferson Winter #1) by James Carol ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

18216648I used to read a fair few thrillers when I was younger and, having not read one for a while, I definitely forgot how scary they can be.

In Broken Dolls, we are introduced to Jefferson Winter, a freelance profiler, whose father was a notorious serial killer. The profiling aspect definitely gave me Criminal Minds vibes, and as in that TV show the serial killer was pretty terrifying. Scotland Yard turn to Winter to profile an unsub who is torturing and lobotomising young women before dumping them. Cheery, I know. This was a super quick read full of twist and turns that really keep you guessing, and as a self-proclaimed Miss Marple I had a hundred theories. Look out for a full review coming soon!

It Ends With Us by Colleen Hooverย ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

28336051This is not my first CoHo book, so I thought I knew what I was getting into with Ryle, Lily and Atlas. I was so wrong. I love a romance, but this was so much more than that. Obviously I can’t say why, but what I can say is that this really makes me look at relationships in a new way. I feel educated but his book, but educated without even realising it, and I feel like I am a stronger person for reading in. I know this all sounds a little mushy, but I truly believe that this book changed me. I’m grateful that I’ve never been in Lily’s situation, but I felt just as conflicted as she was and really didn’t know what I would do in her situation. I will be posting a full spoiler review sometime in the future, so look out for that.

A Court of Thorns and Roses (ACoTaR #1) by Sarah J. Maasย ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

22839894There’s no denying that this has been one of my favourite books since I read it back in 2015, and nothing much has changed in that sense. This is, to put it quite simply, a Beauty and the Beast retelling but believe me when I say it is so much more complex than that, where Sarah weaves in her own style, and plot alongside that which we are already familiar with. ACoTaR is a fantastic start to a series and does so well to set up a world which you become more familiar with in the next book. What wasย interesting was, now that I’ve read the sequel and know the things that I do know, my opinions have changed a tiny bit, not necessarilyย my allegiances, but some things are way more obvious. If you want a full review I have one on GoodReads and you can check that out right HERE.

Ready Player One by Ernest Clineย ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

17374967This was pretty good, and the fact that the audiobook is read by Will Wheaton definitely contributed toward my enjoyment. Ready Player One is a sci-fi YA novel, set around a treasure hunt within a virtual reality, called the Oasis. My favourite part was definitely the countless pop culture references, because they ere so much fun to spot. I wanted to give this 3 stars but, and this is how it gained an extra star, I felt like this book really reminded me of how much ย I love my non-internet life. I guess this sounds a little odd, but for me Ready Player One is a book about ‘real’ life, about life outside the Oasis and I really appreciated that.

On the Road by Jack Kerouacย ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

10818227This was a bit of a mixed bag for me and I think you have to be in the right headspace for it. This is the story of Sal and his adventured with Dean as the do a number of road trips across the USA in the 1950’s, which are literally full of sex, drugs and rock & roll. For the most part I really like the vibe and the attitude of the book but I struggled with the characters. It wasn’t until I was nearing the end that it dawned on me what unhealthy relationships are portrayed. It took me back to Nick and Gatsby’s relationship, with Sal filling the Nick role. Overall I enjoyed it, but just didn’t connect in the way I was hopping to, not so much a disappointment, just an unexpected experience.

The Song Rising (The Bone Season #3) by Samantha Shannonย ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

28260402Such a great continuation to the series! Compared to the first two books in the seriesย The Song Rising is much quicker in terms of pace and plot, while still managing to avoid any confusion. I finally feel completely comfortable in this world, because I do think that the world does take a lot of getting used to, and the book as a whole feels much more carefully plotted out. I would have loved to have seen a bit more of my favourite character, but maybe there’s more to come from him in the future. Samantha wrapped-up a whole load of questions and mysteries from the first two books and gives us a lovely set up for book 4, very well done!

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronteย ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

17352569This is my fifth re-read and I love this book more and more every time! Jane Eyre is the faux-autobiographical tale of Jane Eyre, an orphaned governess who moves to creepy ol’ Thornfield Hall to teach a young girl. I really can/’t tell you why I love this book so much, just that this is my favourite book of all time, and that commitment is saying something. Every single time I read this book I change my opinion on something This book is pretty big, but there is some much that goes on, so many surprises, that it really feels super short. If you’re still unsure I’d definitely check out the 2011 film adaptation, which I also adore, and I think would work as a great intro to this masterpiece.

Three Bedrooms, One Corpse (Aurora Teagarden #3) by Charlaine Harrisย ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

22093702I’m super excited to have finished this one for two reasons; the first because it is my least favourite, and the second because this is my final re-read, the rest are going to be completely new for me. In this outing, Roe is trying her hand as becoming an estate agent, which doesn’t exactly go to plan when on her first house showing she discovers the body of a fellow colleague. The mystery itself is fine, however, I’m just not a fan of her first reaction to the new character Martin Bacall. Which, even I have to admit is odd, because I like the new character, I jus find their first interaction unnerving. It sort of reminds me of a very watered down attempt at one of Sookie’s many relationships, a character from Harris’ other series. But overall this was another fun little murder mystery, and a great addition to the series.

City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1) by Cassie Clareย ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

29356081Since my last book haul I acquired a new set of paperbacks of this series, so what better way to Christen them that to re-read the series.ย City of Bones is our introduction to theย world of the Shaodwhunters. Clary Fray thinks she is an ordinary fifteen year old, until she meets Jace who promptly stabs a blue-haired boy in a club. After that her life goes to hell, with her mother missing and demons hunting her. Welcome to the Shadowhunter universe, a world where Nephilim, half-human-half-angels, hunt the demons that slip into the world, protecting the rest of us mundanes. Even though this wasn’t on my official TBR, I love Cassie Clare’s world, I squeezed it in. This is a great introduction to the world, but if you weren’t completely sold, keep reading because it gets so much wilder, so much better and so much more fantastical than you could imagine.

 

 

fullsizeoutput_259

I also read another book for school, The Book of Marvels and Travels by John Manderville, which a bit dull, compulsory and I only gaveย ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ.ย 

My favourite book this month was It Ends With Us, a romantic contemporary with a twist. What about you?ย What are your favourite thrillers? What was your book of the month?

Thanks for reading!

Victoria

 

One thought on “March Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

