April TBR

April already! Is it just me, or is 2017 whizzing past at break neck speed? I’m hoping to be able to read 8 books this month, none of which are for school, which is something short of a miracle.

fullsizeoutput_259

Hardcopy:

A Court of Mist and Fury (ACoTaR #2) by Sarah J. Maas 

28477453Of course, working toward the release of ACoWaR on May 4th, I want to fit in a re-read of the best book so far, and just one of my all-time favourites, ACoMaF. Without falling into the trap of just gushing over how much I love this book, this is the sequel to A Court of Thorns and Roses, which is a YA fantasy novel. Instead of a Beauty and the Beast re-telling, this one is a take on the Hades and Persephone relationship, from Greek mythology, and if you’ve read the first book, you’ll know who the characters are. As in ACoTaR, it is a very loose retelling, and you may have noticed that there are no gods in this series, but the essence of the story remains the same. This time w get to experience the night court for the first time, and that’s where everyone want’s to be. Party at the Night Court, anyone?

The Julius House (Aurora Teagarden #4) by Charlaine Harris 

21292152This is the first Aurora Teagarden of the year than is a new read for me, and even though I watched the TV film the other day I’m still really looking forward to it. As with the previous book in the series this will be a cosy murder mystery, focused on the main character, Aurora Teagarden, who is set on buying a house, but of course she can’t just buy any house. . No, she has to buy a house from which a whole family disappeared a few years ago, a mystery that was never solved. Of course, Aurora is girl on a mission to solve a mystery, and get this house ready to move in. There’s also the whole relationship angle, as we see, for the first time, a relationship grow.

The Hero of Ages (Mistborn #3) by Brandon Sanderson 

6547259This is the final book in a high fantasy trilogy, as least I think it’s a trilogy, I have a trilogy box set anyway. I read the first two last year, so in 2017 it is time to finish it up, and so far it’s been a five star series, so understandably I’m pretty excited. As I said, this is set in a high fantasy world in which the magic system revolves around consuming different metals to give you different powers, and is super intricate. As the finale to the trilogy, I’m really excited to just right back into this world that I absolutely adore. This series was one of the first adult high fantasies I read and completely sold me to on the genre. I’m really ready for some more high fantasy and I just know that Sanderson will be perfect.

The Dark Days Club (The Dark Days Club #1) by Alison Goodman

27074515I am also hoping to read The Dark Days Club, a book that has been on my TBR for who knows how long. But the time is nigh and I am determined to just get it done and dusted. I recently got the kindle version or free so I might end up switching editions but I will finish it. This is a YA historical-fantasy story, that sounds very similar to The Infernal Devices, though I am not complaining, and set in London during the Regency era. After a mysterious disappearance Lady Helen joins forces with the, presumably, super attractive and hopefully sarcastic, (but maybe that’s wishing for another Will Herondale a little too much), William, Earl of Carleston.

fullsizeoutput_259

Kindle:

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

12501590.jpgThe Song of Achilles is a book that I see all of the time on Tumblr thanks to the ship in this book, so it’ll be nice to actually understand those references. It’s a historical fiction novel with LGBT elements, or so I’ve heard, entered around the exiled Prince Patroclus and Achilles. Can you see the ship on the horizon? Just from the description I’m getting such Ember vibes which I love. Then, Helen of Sparta is kidnapped, which leads, as you probably know to the siege of Troy. The only book that takes place on a battlefield that I can remember is Birdsong, so I don’t know if this will focus more of the battle aspect or the characters, but either way I’m very intrigued by the concept.

The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers

24956528This will be the first sci-fi novel that I’ve read is a very long time, but I’m really excited. This peaked my interest when I was looking for some sci-fi after finishing the film Interstellar, an absolutely stunning film, but that was about a year ago, still I’m here now. The actually description was a bit vague but basically I think that this takes place on a space-ship taking a variety of people to a new home, and bout what they’re leaving behind. This kind of reminds me of Firefly, another great TV show, with the mixture of characters aboard one ship so I wonder if I’ll still think that at the end.

De Profundis by Oscar Wilde 

11060845Even though I haven’t read very much Oscar Wilde I do really like what I have read from him. I bought this for my sister for Christmas, but I’m going to read the free Kindle version just to see what it’s all about. This is a piece of non-fiction, a letter, that Wilde wrote to his lover, Lord Alfred Douglass, while imprisoned for indecent behaviour for two years in the 1890s. Consisting of a total of 50,000 words, Wilde was unable to send the letter but took it with him upon his release in 1897. He then gave it to a friend, who after sending a copy to Douglass, partially published int in 1905, and it was finally completely published in the 1960s.

To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf

18971949So this is my first Virginia Woolf book and, to be honest, I have no idea what to expect. Even though I’ve heard of Woolf, I haven’t heard much else other than her name, so I don’t know what her writing style is going to be like, and I’m solely relying on GoodReads for the summary. The reason I’m reading this in April is because it’s part of a classics-based GoodReads book club, and you can find 100 Classics and Beyond which you are more than welcome to join if it sounds up your alley. To the Lighthouse is set just before the First World War, and introduces us to the Ramsey family, who always spend their summer at their holiday home is Scotland. So, I think this is going to be about the changing times of the period, something that I’m intrigued by.

fullsizeoutput_259

Audible:

Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices #1) by Cassie Clare, read by Morena Baccarin

25813915With the second book on the horizon, a re-read was of course a must and since I don’t own a copy, and had a spare Audible credit… Lady Midnight is, of course, set in the Shadowhunter universe, but we follow a brand new(-ish) set of characters at the L.A Institute. Our main protagonist, and one of my favourites, Emma Carstairs is hell bent on investigating the mysterious murder of her parents eight-ish years ago. We also get to see the aftereffects of the Dark War, from The Mortal Instruments, and their effects on a new generation of Shadowhunters.

 

fullsizeoutput_259

So, those are the book that I plan to read this month. I am most excited for Hero of Ages because I can’t wait to see how the trilogy finishes. What are you most excited about this month?

Thanks for reading!

Victoria

