Posted in Haul

April Book Haul

April is supposed to be another busy month for me but I’m still buying books, but in my defence I have started buying some that will go toward my New Years Resolutions, and  here are they are.

fullsizeoutput_259

To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf (Kindle)

18971949This was cheep enough that I could justify picking it up as this months book for the 100 Classics and Beyond Book Club, over on GoodReads. As I’ve said in my TBR, I am very in the dark regarding the plot of this book, but as far as I can understand it revolves around one family who always spend the summer at their holiday home in Scotland.

It takes place just before the First World War which is always a really interesting era to read about because of the immense change during these years. Other than that I have no idea where this book is going to take me, but I’ll look forward to discussing it with the rest of the book club.

Animal Farm by George Orwell (Kindle)

774310.jpgI read this when I was pretty young but it made such an impression on me that I still think about this book to this day, and often quote it. I genuinely believe that everyone should read this book. Basically, in case you  haven’t read it, this is set on a farm, surprising I know. But instead of following the humans we follow the animals, as they decide that they could do a better job than the humans and essentially overthrow them. I only bought it because it was a kindle daily deal, and a Penguin Modern Classics edition, which I love, but I am looking forwards to reading it again sometime, and I wonder if I’ll feel any different about it now that I’m older.

The Woman Next Door by Yewande Omotoso [Longlisted for Bailey’s Women’s Prize for Fiction 2017] (Paperback)

31706274Set in Cape Town, The Woman Next Door follows two next door neighbours, Hortensia and Marion. Both women are in their eighties, widowed, retired from prestigious careers and widowed. Since they have so much in common, sounds like they would be best friends, right? Wrong! Hortensia and Marion are enemies, and this premise sounds absolutely hilarious. I don’t know about anyone else but I tend to assume that prize-winning books are going to be super heavy, but this one doesn’t sound like that at all. Obviously I could be completely wrong but it sounds like a fun, light-hearted read.

Do Not Say We have Nothing by Madeline Thien [Shortlisted for The Man Booker Prize 2016] (Paperback)

34658262.jpg Like The Woman Next Door this one is also super diverse, which despite not being a conscious decision on my part I am really happy about. Do Not Say We Have Nothing is the story of Ai-ming, a young woman who is taken in by a Canadian family in 1990 after fleeing the aftermath of the Tiananmen Square protests. Since I have absolutely no knowledge of Chinese history, honestly I don’t know what that is, but I look forward to finding out. I’m going to be reading the 2016 Man Booker Shortlist over the summer, so keep your eye out for both my Summer TBR’s and Wrap-Ups to see how I get on with this one.

Inside the Magic: The Making of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by Ian Nathan (Hardback)

32998368.jpgThis is a pretty short book with plenty of gorgeous visual art that shows the making of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. It’s pretty self-explanitory book, with a chapter dedicated to exploring different aspects of the film, such as Newt, MACUSA, The New Salem Philanthropic Society, and more. There are in depth analysis’ of character, scenery, special effects, all without spoiling anything for anyone who hasn’t seen the film, though if you haven’t seen it I don’t know why you would be reading this book. It also came free with the DVD and is pretty gorgeous considering.

Watch Me (Jefferson Winter #2) by James Carol (Kindle)

21400763When I added this one to my wish list, straight off the back of finishing the first one which I loved (Check out both my spoiler-free review for more on that), it was less than £2. Then it popped up for free and I knew that I HAD to have it. Even though this is the second in the series I’m pretty sure that the stories can stand on their own, so I don’t have to worry about any re-reading. This time, Jefferson Winter, famed FBI criminal profiler, and son of a infamous serial killer, is back on home turf in America. He’s called upon to investigate the apparently motiveless burning alive of a lawyer in Louisiana, the first of more, or at least that’s what I’m guessing.

The Brothers Karamazov by Fydor Dostoyevsky (Kindle)

28670655Another free book, this time for the 100 Classics Book Club, as the May book of the month, and as excited as I am to try some Russian literature I am a little intimidated by the size of this thing. Wish me luck. At least the club is going to be on hiatus until August so I (hopefully) will have more than enough time to get through it. On a more positive note the actual plot sounds really interesting. When landowner, Fydor Karamazov, is found murdered the blame seems to lie at the feet of one of his sons, each of which are very different. Sounds part mystery, part family drama, and I am always there for that.

fullsizeoutput_259

So, a mixed bag for April as I being in buy books a little out of my comfort zone, and that will go toward my New Years Resolutions. I’m most excited about reading The Women Next Door, even though I’m not sure when I will get round to it.
What did you buy this month? Have you read any of these, and if so, what did you think?

Thanks for reading

Victoria

Leave a Reply

