May TBR

Hello, May! A month of exams, and a month of finishing university forever, or at least for the time being, and here’s what I’m planning on reading.

fullsizeoutput_259

Hardcopy:

Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5) by Sarah J. Maas

29559052I can’t believe it has taken me this long to even put this back on my TBR, though not for lack of trying I promise. As the 5th book in the series I can’t really say anything about this book that is not a spoiler, so let’s just say that this books picks up after the events of Queen of Shadows, my favourite of the series. You may have noticed  that at the end of the previous book there were still quite a few problems on Aelin’s plate, and now, like a boss, she is going to deal with them. I also have a paperback copy now, with a signed bookplate, so I’ll be reading that edition instead of my kindle one.

The Dark Days Club (The Dark Days Club #1) by Alison Goodman

27074515I don’t even want to speculate how long I’ve had this book, and how many times I’ve almost read it. But May will be the month, I swear. You’re probably sick of earring my half-hearted attempt at a summery but here we go again; Short version: The Infernal Devices in the Regency Period. Long version: Lady Helen is hellbent on investigating some mysterious disappearances, and is assisted by Lord something, who, I’m sure is super hot, because why else would I be reading this book. I’m not a uhudnred percent if there are teams, but to be honest the is what I am looking for with this book.

Dead Over Heels (Aurora Teagarden #5) by Charlaine Harris

21367658This is the final book from my Christmas Haul, can you believe that  we’re here already. If you were wondering what else I got in that Haul then you can check that out HERE. Dead Over Heels is the last book that I own from this series, but I am hoping to keep reading till the end of the series. Already, I am sold on the premise of this one because it just sounds like a lot of fun, and I already have high hopes, with dead bodies appearing in the back garden of Aurora’s new house. Obviously not ideal, unless, of course, you have an penchant for solving mysteries, like Aurora does. I’m also wondering where her relationship with Marin is going to be at after then ending of the previous book, so plenty to think about.

fullsizeoutput_259

Kindle:

Lord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices #2) by Cassie Clare [Released 23/04/2017]

30312891Well, I’ve just finished Lady Midnight again in preparation for this baby and I cannot wait to see what happens next. I’ve heard so really interesting theories and I’m really hoping some of them pan out, if not then those will be the fanfic’s that I’m going to be looking out for. So, we are of course back in the Shadowhunter universe and despite these kinds being from L.A judging by the cover we are going to be spending some time in London. Surely this means some Infernal Devices references? I picked up a chapter sampler from Waterstones but as of yet have been too nervous to actually read it.

A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses #3) by Sarah J. Maas [Released 03/04/2017]

23766634Is this my most anticipated book release of 2017? You bet. And would you just look at that cover. Feyre, darling, you are looking absolutely gorgeous in that dress, and the sword too. There are so many things I want to see happen in this book, not least to see a certain someone getting a slap in the face. Also, I need my ships to be a-sailing at the end of the book. I really want this book to be like 900 pages, I literally want a book the size of Rhys’ wing span. Mmm… that’s another thing I want to see in ACoWaR. I just cannot wait, though the fact that this is released during exam time might be a bit of a problem, more so for my exams than this book.

 

Vicious by V.E Schwab

23717497And finally I’m all up to read one of my favourite books from one of my favourite authors. That’s right I talking about you, V.E Schwab. In case you didn’t realise I am always there for morally grey characters and Vicious is the ultimate for blurred lines between good and evil, superhero and super villain. Best friends in college Eli and Victor decide to experiment of themselves in an effort to give themselves superpowers. But when one finds themselves with superman like strength and the other the power to cause pain, they find themselves failing into stereotypes, prompting us question who is the villain and who is the hero.

fullsizeoutput_259Audible:

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff, narrated by By Olivia Taylor Dudley, Lincoln Hoppe, Jonathan McClain

28452462I can’t decide if I need a paperback copy to go with this book, since there’s so much mixed media in it. Any suggestions? Either way, this is a YA, sci-fi, set in the year 2575 where Katy was just about to break up with her boyfriend Ezra (Anyone else thinking of PLL Ezra?), until, that it, her  planet gets invaded. Katy and Ezra are thrown head first into a heart stopping race to escape, via evacuation fleet, with the enemy in hot pursuit. As I said before, the story is told through mixed media, so a lot of articles, retracted files, interviews, that sort of thing, which is super interesting and a different approach to create a unique story.

fullsizeoutput_259

And that’s all folks. Obviously the highlight for me is going to be ACoWaR and there is nothing more to be said on that.

What about you? Have you read any of these and what did you think? What is your most anticipated book this year?

Thanks for reading!

Victoria

