Posted in writing

Camp NaNoWriMo April 2017 Wrap-Up

I know, I know, I never did any sort of announcement for this, even though I did decide before April that I wanted to give it a go. Honestly I just forgot.

What is Camp NaNoWriMo?

Camp NaNoWriMo is like the chilled out version of NaNoWriMo. Instead of having the 50,000 word target, you get to pick your own. You can measure it in words, pages, lines, whatever suits your project best. The target is also something that you can adjust, until about the 20th of the month, if you’re lagging behind, or want to push yourself a little bit extra. Even though I have done NaNoWriMo before, this is definitely ideal for both first timers and those who are old hat.

My Intentions

Originally I set a 30,000 word target, which seems reasonable enough. However, things didn’t exactly go to plan and I had to scrap in favour of a 15,000 words target because I’d been lazy at the beginning of the month. I did not have an outline, but I’ve got some writing prompts hanging around if I needed them. Essentially I just wanted to make sure that I was writing regularly, rather than complete a certain project.

What did I actually write?

Similar to my actual NaNo project last November I wrote little pieces of whatever took my fancy. I’ve been toying with a piece of sci-fi lately so I really developed that, comping up with a new twist and expanding on a character who was previously all of one sentence. I did the slightest bit of Joker x Harley stuff, though nothing near the extended pieces I did in November. And finally, I extended an original skit form another project, which draws upon the The Raven Cycle. Finally, I also really extend upon what was previously just a paragraph of another story. So all over the place, as usual, but I do like what I wrote in the end, and had a lot of fun doing in.

Reflections on my experience

This was my first Camp, and as much as I really liked what I wrote, I do think that maybe my time couldn’t have been better spend doing some long overdue editing. Because of the flexible goals, I think that for me it would have been the perfect opportunity. Lucky enough there is a second Camp NaNoWriMo in July, so stay tuned on updates on that, since I’m pretty sure I know what I want to work on.

What about you? Did you participate in Camp NaNoWriMo this year, or in the past? What have your experiences been? Would you consider participating in the future?

Thanks for reading!

Victoria

2 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo April 2017 Wrap-Up

  1. I participated in NaNoWriMo in November and felt really good about it. I think it shouldn’t be about how much you write but just enjoying the process. I wanted to participate in camp NaNoWriMo but I have been focused on my reading recently since I have been really stressed with life and just need the escape reading offers me.

    Like

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed it. You’re so right about the word count thing. I definitely think that the act of writing every single day, even if you don’t quite hit the word count, that’s super important. Let me know if you’re thinking about doing the July one!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

