May Haul

Best. Month. Ever. Why, you may ask? Because I finished my exams? No. Because I finished my final year of university? No? Because it was ACoWAR release month, of course!

fullsizeoutput_259

A Court of Wings and Ruin (ACoTaR #3) by Sarah J. Maas

23766634As the final book in the trilogy, although there will be additional books set in Prythian, I have been waiting for this book since I first finished ACoMaF last year. Easily my most anticipated book of the year, and at the risk of this turning into a fan-girl session, it was totally worth the wait.

War is coming, and we’ve kind of known that for a long time, and the title of this book does little to quell our fears, or at least my fears. After the events of the previous book, we know that we’re going to be making a return visit to the Spring Court (sarcastic cheer) but considering this book is around 700 pages, clearly there will be much more action. I was literally shaking with excitement for this book and, spoiler warning, it was so worth it!

Lord of Shadows (TDA #2) by Cassie Clare

30312891Since I only read Lady Midnight back in January, plus I was distracted with ACOWAR, I’m not going to say that my anticipation was as high as it could have been. However I am looking forward to seeing where out characters, especially Julian, will go from here. I’ve seen some really intriguing fan theories, so intrigueng that I’m desperately hoping they’ll be right. Honestly, I’m not even sure that I read the blurb for this one. I know the gang are going to be in London, from the cover, and I guess they’ll eventually be made aware of the big thing that happened right at the very end of the last book. As a hardcore shipper, I’m not too concerned about the plot, so much as the relationships between the characters. That’s why I preordered this book.

Rogue One; A Star Wars Story by Alexander Freed

30042159.jpgHow do I love thee, let me count the ways. But seriously I adored this film and have been waiting an age for the paperback to be released, since I didn’t really want a hardback. I bought the audiobook on audible and had listened to a little bit of that, so not only does this take the story of the film but it also develops on it, as we have glimpses of different POV’s throughout. I don’t think that you have to have much more than a really basic knowledge of the Star Wars universe (I had only seen The Force Awakens, and maybe The Phantom Menace when I saw this in the cinema) to enjoy the beauty of this story.

Release by Patrick Ness

31194576.jpgFor some reason I always dismiss Patrick Ness, and then once a new book comes out, I am all over it like a rash because I remember how much I love him. Even though I didn’t pre-order this I was really eager to get my hands on it and when I saw singed ones in Waterstones- Well, I was on it. Release takes place over the corse of one day, or ten hours, which really appeals to me, because I love the concept of a constrained amount of time. It’s also base on Virginia Woolf’s Mrs Dalloway, and since I wasn’t in love with her I don’t think I’m going to read that first, but this should also stand on its own. I am definitely looking forward to this boy’s internal discovery of himself.

Skirrid Hill by Owen Sheers

1662881This is a book of poetry, probably the first I’ve even bought because I didn’t used to be a huge poetry fan, although I am warming to it at the moment. I’ve already read a couple of these poems, and studied them as a partner text to my English Literature AS level, so at the very least I know that I do like the poet. Owen Sheers, a welsh poet, explores themes of divorce, separation, and borders, amongst other things in the collection to bring some truly beautiful poetry to the forefront. The reason I picked this up, and spent more than I should have in the bookshop, was because it was signed! My second singed book of the month!

The Novice (Summoner #1) by Taran Matharu

22297138Then, with this fantasy novel I have a good excuse; it was free. I have no idea why, since it’s been on my wish list for a while, but best not look a gift horse in the mouth. Admittedly part of my enthusiasm is due to the cover, it looks a little like the Throne of Glass Series, and I think it is gorgeous. Our protagonist in this YA fantasy novel is Fletcher, a blacksmith’s apprentice (think GoT’s Gendry) who has the ability to summon demons from other worlds. I mean, I love demons, as you know, so I feel like this is going to be great. I love demons, as you know, so I feel like this is going to be great.

The Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh

23308087Last month I ordered my very first bookish subscription box, and that was the Warrior’s and Legends FairyLoot, from which this book came. I loved the box and will be doing a for an unboxing post for it soon, but this book was most of the reason why I ordered it. I know that it’s set in Feudal Japan, a place where I have never read a book set there, and it’s a reworking of Mulan. Yep, Mulan. One of the best Disney films! I’ve heard it called Mulan meets 47 Ronin, but since I’ve never seen 47 Ronin, I’m more focused on the Mulan part. So, girl pretends to be a boy and trains to be an awesome warrior, I’m sold.

World Mythology in Bite-Sized Chunks by Mark Daniels

29434556.jpgThis was also in May’s Fairyloot, and is pretty much what it says on the tin. I’m a lover of mythology, partly due to Percy Jackson, but also I do have a genuine interest. From a quick glance I can see that it really explores a lot of different cultures’ mythology, from the more familiar Greek and Roman, to further afield, with Australia and China. It’s the sort of book that you can just dip in and out of whenever. With the new Thor film coming soon, I’m getting into Norse mythology so maybe that will be my first port of call when I pick this up.

fullsizeoutput_259

Obviously the book I was most excited about having in my clutched was ACOWAR, and honest I would have sold my soul for it. Luckily I didn’t have to. What about you? What was your favourite book that you bought this month? Did we get any of the same ones?

Thanks for reading!

Victoria

