May Wrap-Up

May. The best month of 2017, because I read certain book this month. I think you’ll be able to figure out what that book was. Of course, I did read more than the one book, and this is what I read:

fullsizeoutput_259

Solitaire by Alice Osman 🌟🌟

20618110.jpgWhat is this book? Is it a mystery? Is it a love story? Is it a mental health novel? Who knows, certainly not me. As you can tell, this was not one of my favourites.

However, I did read it in a day, which isn’t something I do very often, so it does have that going for it. Despite sharing my name, I really did not like the protagonist, and my dislike just grew, and grew, and grew. She’s probably my least favourite protagonists for a long, long time.  The worst thing was, I loved every other character, I loved Michael, Lucas, Becky, Nick, and Charlie, especially Charlie, so clearly the writing was decent. Such a shame for a book that I heard so much hype and had such high expectations for.

 

To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf 🌟🌟

18971949Another disappointing book, this time, one that I really had to battle though to finish. This was the book of the month for one of my bookclubs, so that might be why I was so determined. There were some things that I did like about this book, certain themes that are really interesting, but not quite interesting enough to make you want to read the next chapter. Even though the plot is very simplistic, for some reason I found it super hard to follow, I think it was because it was very much an internal, rather than external type of plot. I also didn’t really connect with any of the characters to the point that I just kept forgetting who was who. Probably not something I’m going to be coming back to.

 

A Court of Wings and Ruin (ACoTaR #3) by Sarah J. Maas 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

23766634It’s official. Sarah J. Maas is a queen. If there is such a thing as perfection then this comes as close as you can get. I have never cried so much over a book, both over the good things and the bad things. I write these mini-reviews straight after finished the books, and I am really struggling to express how much I adored this book. The fairytale aspects were still present and woven through the narrative beautifully, so subtle but still enchanting. Of course there has been a war brewing for one time, but ultimately this is a story of unity, of redemption, of hope, and above all, about the supreme power of love. Bravo, Sarah, this is truly, a breathtaking book!

 

Vicious by V.E Schwab 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

23717497A firm favourite since I first read it a year ago, my feelings haven’t changed  all that much, but maybe I appreciate this book even more. This is a story of superheroes and super villains, of two college kinds who take it upon themselves to make themselves into EO’s, Extra-Ordinaries. Only one becomes a hero, and the other a villain. As a lover of morally grey characters this book is perfect for me, because that it such a pivotal theme in this books. V.E Schwab masterfully weaves together all these different plot lines, and time strands, so you can stand back after the final chapter and admire the beauty of this book.

 

Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty 🌟🌟🌟🌟

25334851.jpgI have had a copy of this book on my shelf for the longest time, so it’s a relief to have finally read it, and to have been so impressed with it. Honestly it was watching the first episode of the new HBO show that really pushed me to get a move on, but I am so glad that it did. The only thing that did any me a little, and I do mean a little, was the authors use of brackets, which was surprisingly frequent, and I don’t think added it the narrative. However, other than that the narrative was really well crafted, interweaving the past and the present in order to create this mystery of who has been killed, and I really enjoyed it.

 

The Dark Days Club (Lady Helen #1) by Alison Goodman 🌟🌟🌟

27074515After such a long wait, I’ve had this book for at least a year, and then I got a kindle copy too, this was a bit disappointing. That’s not to say that this was a bad book, it just had a lot of problems that really stood out to me. As a book about demon hunters in the Regency Period I expected adventure, excitement but it just didn’t really deliver. I wanted a load of sexual tension between Helen and the mysterious Lord Carlston, which just wasn’t there. Sure, this series might improve with subsequent books, but I don’t see myself there for it. Honestly, and I know I shouldn’t compare, but I would rather just go and read The Infernal Devices (again). As much as it probably doesn’t sound like it, I am relived to finally have read this.

 

Dead Over Heels (Aurora Teagarden #5) by Charlaine Harris 🌟🌟🌟🌟

21367658By the fifth book in a series, sometimes you can just tell that the author is running out of steam, but not so in Charlaine Harris’ case. In this instalment of the cosy murder mystery series, Aurora ‘Roe’ Teagarden in relaxing in her garden when a body drops from an aeroplane and lands on her lawn. As I’ve come to expect from Charlaine Harris, this was super fun, and held a good balance between Roe’s ‘normal’ life and the murder mystery aspect, keeping you guessing to the very end. Although I really enjoyed my first read, I can tell that I’m going to enjoy it even more on a re-read.

 

Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5) by Sarah J. Maas 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

29559052Can you believe it has taken me this long to re-read this book? I’d forgotten so many of the things that happen! What can I say about EoS? It was amazing! I know that a lot of people really didn’t like this book, but for me, it is my second favourite of the series. The world continues to expand beautifully as we explore new places on that gorgeous map, and really being to understand the overarching plot, involving Elena and the like. It probably isn’t all that suitable for younger readers, but that just made me love it even more. Since, for some bizarre reason, I did not review this back in September I am doing just that so keep a look out for a full review coming in the near(-ish) future.

 

Lord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices #2) by Cassie Clare 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

30312891Given how much I raved about the first book in the series, I really did not expect this one to be better. Spoiler alert; it was. This is the book, out of all her Shadowhunter novels to date, that Cassie is really pushing herself to show us what she can do with a plot. I can count at least seven POVs all of which work flawlessly in tandem to present the complexities and intricacies of such an extensive plot as this one. The diversity in this book was through the roof, with even more diverse characters than in the first one, which was really interesting. I also have to give a shout out to Kit, and, believe it or not, Kieran, both of whom really impressed me. I’m going to pray that the ting that happened at the end didn’t happen, because I don’t really know where that leaves us.

fullsizeoutput_259

Obviously I was living for ACOWAR this month, and will be living on it for the foreseeable future. Otherwise it was bit of a mixed bag, it’s been a while since I’ve given books of my own choosing such low ratings. But I guess those books just put into perspective, just how great ACOWAR- I mean other books are. And of course, LoS was excellent in its own right!

What did you read this month? Have your read any of these, and what did you think of them?

Thanks for reading!

Victoria

