Posted in Books, TBR

June TBR

So here we are at long last, the beginning of Summer! Hopefully my plan is to get a job but while I am doing that these are the books that I am aiming to read. You can tell that I’m home now that the formats are no longer equal.

fullsizeoutput_259

Kindle:

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

28095737If you haven’t seen my Summer of Austen post yet then you won’t know that I am aiming to read all of Austen’s novels over the summer. Pride and Prejudice will be a re-read for me, but I’m hoping to read it myself instead of the audiobook but maybe I’ll end up doing a little bit of both. Since this is probably the most well known novel in the English language I don’t think you need much of a summary, but here goes nothing. Mrs Bennet mother to five unmarried daughters os over the moon at the arrival of new gentlemen in the neighbourhood. I guess you can see where this is going.

Persuasion by Jane Austen

18300265.jpgFor my second book of the month I am hitting up Persuasion which I know absolutely nothing about. Our protagonist is Anne who, before the narrative stats, was once engaged to a naval officer, but it is broken off after being convinced that it is a bad match. Don’t give in to peer pressure kids! Anne regrets this, but not half so much as when the officer returns richer, and probably even hotter, while Anne’s own family fortunes have taken a turn for the worst. This sounds super interesting, but it’s not really one I’ve heard much about, so I guess we’ll see how it goes. Also, I have the free kindle versions so I don’t have these beautiful Vintage Classics covers but I figured they’d look prettier in this post.

All the Light we Cannot See by Anthony Doer

18143977This book was super popular in the last few years so I’m looking forward to getting stuck into this World War II, historical fiction novel. Our protagonists are a blind French girl and german boy, and already I am sold. I always love books with diverse main characters, like people with disabilities, and learning about the way in which they navigate the world, especially so when it’s also WWII based. Their paths eventually collide in occupied France, and I don’t know if this is a romance, but that’s the vibe I’m getting (I could be VERY wrong so take that with a pinch of salt). I’m trying to read some more historical fiction, another genre that I love but I’ve neglected for a while and this seems like a great read to get back into it.

Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2) by Sarah J. Maas

17670709This looks confusing because I always put my kindle books first, but don’t worry, read on, I am actually reading the whole series. Even though we’re not getting Throne of Glass #7 this year, I figured I’d prepare myself for Chaol’s novel by re-reading the series. I don’t really need an excuse to read SJM. Obviously Crown of Midnight is the second book in the series, and just as good as the first in my mind. There is a ship a-sailing, not my ship, but a ship, and you sailors might want to make the most of it. Celaena is chilling in the castle as champion of the king, but of course all is not well, because that would just be ridiculous.

 

fullsizeoutput_259Hardcopy:

This Dark Duet (Monsters of Verity #2) by V.E Schwab

34397653I love everything V.E Schwab writes, at least everything I’ve read so far, so I am pumped for the conclusion to the monsters of Verity duology, and sequel to one of my favourite books of 2016, This Savage Song. In a world where horrific actions, like murder, or violence, spawn physical monsters who roam the city. I absolutely love this concept because it really is so intriguing. Our protagonists, who tel the story through dual perspectives, are Kate Harker and August Flynn, a human who’s trying o be a monster and a monster who wants nothing more than to be human. At the risk of gushing of the first book, this picks up where we left off though admittedly I have no clue where it’s going, and I might just leave it as a surprise.

Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1) by Sarah J. Maas

13519397See, I promised I’d get to the first book eventually! I do have this on my kindle too, but since I also have the paperback I figured I might as well mix up the forms. This will be my 5th time reading this book about a 17 year old assassin, the best assassin in the kingdom, who was betrayed an captured a couple of years ago. But now she is being invited to compete in a sort of hunger-games-for-criminals to win her eventual freedom after being caught. It is a YA fantasy novel, but works as a really easy and accessible intro to this genre, I know it was one of my first. There’s death, love, some spooky going on, castles, princes, assassins and puppies… What more could you want?

The Sellout by Paul Beatty

22237161This is actually the winner of the Man Booker last year, prestigious, I know. I wonder if I’ll agree? This is not a book that I would be picking up otherwise, probably not anyway, but in the interest of an open mind I’m going to read it anyway. I mean, if nothing else I do really like this cover, so there’s that. GoodReads describes it as comic genius and bitting satire, which makes me very nervous because it sounds super high-brow. In reality that shouldn’t scare me, I mean I am an English Lit graduate, but still I find it intimidating! The Sellout is the story of a race trial thats ends a young isolated man to the Supreme Court.

All That Man Is by David Szalay

31449019And finally we have arrived at what I think is a collection of nine short stories, that may or may not be linked together. Nine short stories, of nine different men, each in different places both physically and psychologically but all questioning their identities. Since this seems really focused on men, and what it means to be a man in the present day, I do wonder weather I’ll be alienated, and snuggle to connect but I’m willing to give it a try. it does seem that despite their differing cultures the sort stories chart the life of man from the young to the elderly which could a really intriguing angle on the subject matter.

fullsizeoutput_259

And those are the books I’m hoping to read in the month of June. As you can see, or at least I hope you can see I am expanding past my YA tendencies, trying to read a couple of different genres and hopefully that will work out.

I am most looking forward to reading Throne of Glass for the 5th time, and I don’t care what anybody says about that? What about you? What are you planing to read in June? Do you like to re-read whole series’?

Thanks for reading!

Victoria

4 thoughts on “June TBR

  1. I’m so excited about Our Dark Duet! I might have to reread This Savage Song first to prepare for it though.

    The main book I’m going 6o be reading in June (and also July!) is War and Peace, so wish me luck!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. The BBC show is the main reason I’m reading it! And it’s definitely helping that I know who the characters are already – I’d be so confused otherwise!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Have you heard of the musical Natasha, Pierre and the great Comet of 1812? It’s based on the Natasha x Andre x Anatole part of War and Peace. It got some Tony nominations this year, and the soundtrack is pretty good, a lot of fun

    Like

Leave a Reply

