Posted in Uncategorized

Camp NaNoWriMo July 2017 Announcement

Since I forgot last time, consider this an official announcement; I will be participating in Camp NaNoWriMo this month.

What is Camp NaNoWriMo?

Consider this the chilled out version of NaNoWriMo. If you don’t know what NaNoWriMo is you can check out my NaNoWriMo post where I explain it in a bit more detail, but basically it’s a writing challenge that takes place in November. The difference here is that you get to set your own goal, either in words, or pages, or time spent, whatever works for you.

What are my goals?

My main goal is to be writing every day in July, no matter how much, but since I work better with a target in mind I want to write 25,000 words. I’m hoping that this will work as a warm up for actual NaNo later this year, so I can prove that last year was not just a fluke.

What am I going to write?

I really want to focus on developing a story I began writing in NaNo 2016, doing as much as possible, wether in words or outline so that come November I will be ready for a second draft. Or maybe a first draft since there are going to be so many changes to the original.

What prep am I doing?

I’m actually not going overboard with prep, but editing what I already have from before (I have found myself obsessed with the comment tool on Word), and outlining anything that is going to be a new scene. That’s in theory anyway. If you’re interested I do have a whole post on prep work in case you’re unsure what to do, or just curious about my own methods.

What about you?

Are you participating in Camp this month? Have you participated in the past? Would you want to participate win the future? Either way, I would love to know down in the comments.

Thanks for reading!

Victoria

 

Leave a Reply

