Book Review: The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet by Becky Chambers [SPOILER FREE]

Mistakes mean progress. We make good things. Great things.

Title: The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet (Wayfarers #1)

24956528Author: Becky Chambers

Release: March 16th 2016

Pages: 519

GoodReads: 4.18

My Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟

My Review:

A Little Summary: The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet is about the a tunnelling crew aboard the Wayfarer as they travel to their next big job. I feel like that is all you need to know before going in.

Scifi comparisons: Even though I don’t read a whole ton of science-fiction, this is a very different book to what I was expecting, definitely more Star Trek than Star Wars. But if you like character driven science-fi, over action-driven, Star Trek you will like this one. If you are a fan of the beauty that was Firefly, then this will be great for you because if almost felt like a love letter to that show.

Season 1: I really feel like this book is paced like a series of episodes, but not episodes that to have to watch in order. For instance, Game of Thrones need to we watched in order because the storylines are so linear. On the other hand you have a Star Trek (the Original Series) which is completely episodic, with each storyline wrapped up by the 50minute mark. This is not necessarily a bad thing, and once I realised how it worked, I quote liked it. However, it does mean that certain storylines that I thought were going to be super important are a little bit anti-climactic.

As a series: Even though this would be a great stand-alone, it isn’t because apparently they are a dying breed. I really did enjoy this book, and it really made me want to watch some ‘classic’ Sci-fi, but it doesn’t make me want to rush out and get the sequel. Then, I had a look at the summary and the main character of the next book is my least fourth character/storyline of this book. In short, as much as I enjoyed this one, and will probably read it again, the sequel is not on my TBR right now.

Humas, Aliens and Everything In Between: This was one of the most interesting aspects, because it’s pretty rare to have aliens as main characters, which is what we get here. out of a crew of 8, three are alien, and one is an AI. There are also cross-species relationships, and an LGBT relationship, which was really interesting given the context. Except for one…

Ships on  a ships: So I am a shipper, I love to ship people, and that is what is going to get me really invested. And there were a number of ships that I liked, nothing that I’m shipping to the death, but there was one that I just could not get behind. And this was probably something to with an aspect that personally freaks me out, but that was just a big problem for me when trying to  get trough this book because it turned into such a big plot point.

Fancasting: I don’t usually fan-cast books but these two really stood out to me. Ashby: as Captain Cassian (Diego Luna) from Star Wars; Rogue One. Kizzy as the engineer from Firefly whose name escapes me at this moment. And Sissix as the lizard lady from Doctor Who.

What about you? Have you read this book, what did you think? Who is your favourite character? Have you read the sequel? What is your favourite science-fiction book/tv show/film?

Thanks for reading!
Victoria

