Book Tag: I Dare You (June)

Time for another great tag from Lena, over at BookFandom1001, so thanks for this. You can see her answers here, but for now, on with the tag!

 

Rules:
-You must be honest

-You can’t not answer a question

-You have to tag at least four people

1. Which book has been on your shelves the longest? 

Inkheart by Cornelia Funke, but it’s too beautiful to ever get rid of

2. What is your current read, your last read and the book you’ll read next?

34397653

My current read is Our Dark Duet!

(also, Crown of Midnight, Pride and Prejudice, Hero of Ages, Illuminae and Rogue One)

After that it’s on to my July TBR! Very top secret, very hush, hush… just kidding, more Austen, More Man Booker, More SJM! You just have to wait for my TBR, coming soon!

3. What book did everyone like and you hated? 

I really didn’t like Elinor and Park by Rainbow Rowell. Don’t get me wrong I love the other books of hers that I read, but this one was just so unsatisfying for me.

4. Which book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read, but you probably won’t? 

I’d like to think that I will eventually read everything on my TBR but, saying that, Atonement by Ian McEwan has been picked up and put back down more times than I care to count.

5. Which book are you saving for “retirement?” 

At this rate, probably Atonement.

6. Last page: read it first or wait till the end? 

I’m willing to wait for it!

(Gotta get that Hamilton reference in somewhere)

7. Acknowledgements: waste of ink and paper or interesting aside?

I didn’t really understand this question? I like reading the acknowledgements if that’s what you’re asking.

8. Which book character would you switch places with?

All of them.

If I absolutely have to be more specific, maybe Feyre (ACOWAR), Lila (Shades of Magic) or Emma Carstairs, or Aelin, though not in her current situation

9. Do you have a book that reminds you of something specific in your life (a person, a place, a time)?

Red Queen reminds me of a few things.

22328546

The first, of the friend that recommended it to me. Then of the other friends that gave me a book voucher for my birthday, which I then spent of Red Queen. Then the day I bought it and had a bagel, in this really nice bagel place that is no longer with us (Bagel Place may he rest in peace). And finally, of when I read it on holiday, even through we  were on the cruise, for some reason it makes me think of the cabin, I guess that was where the big thing that  happens went down. Ah, good ol’ Red Queen. (As you can see, I have quite a good memory so there are quite a few books I could tell you about).

10. Name a book you acquired in some interesting way?

Can’t think anything specific, I usually just buy mine from either Waterstones or Amazon.

22839894

I did send my family to get me a signed copy of ACOTAR, when Sarah J. Mass was in my hometown, and I was at uni, if that counts.

11. Have you ever given away a book for a special reason to a special person?

One of my own books? No, unless you count Eleanor and Park, where I just lent it to my friends and told them to do with it what they would, I didn’t want it back. I wonder what happened…

12. Which book has been with you to the most places?

My kindle goes everywhere with me, does that count?

23437156

Otherwise my copy of Six of Crows has been to Cardiff, Reading, Aberystwyth and Plymouth.

13. Any “required reading” you hated in high school that wasn’t so bad two years later? 

I can’t really remember hating any required reading, what can I say, English nerd and proud.

14. What is the strangest item you’ve ever found in a book?

Only stuff I’ve put in there. I hide things in big books, like photos, notes, a piece of ribbon, sweet wrappers, bookmarks, birthday cards, notes unrelated to the book.

15. Used or brand new?

Brand New, all the way. Unless it’s something super cool like a first edition, then I’m on board.

16. Have you ever read a Dan Brown? 

Yep, I’ve read Angels and Demons and the DaVinci Code and really liked them. I also have The Lost Symbol but it’s not a priority at the moemnt.

17. Have you ever seen a movie you liked better than the book?

They were in no way better than the books, but I really like the Percy Jackson films. I think they’re fun adventures, and I’m probably going to get crucified for sharing this opinion.

18. A book that should NEVER have been published.

Never, seems a little harsh, don’t you think? I really didn’t like Beauty by Robin McKinley, but I feel too mean saying that it should NEVER have been published, I mean I’m sure someone liked it, even if if was just Robin.

19. Have you ever read a book that’s made you hungry, cookbooks being excluded from this question?

I don’t think so.

20. Who is the person whose book advice you’ll always take? 

I’ll pretty much take recs from anyone!

 

I Tag:

Grace @GraceGetsBooks|and anyone else who has not yet done this tag!

