July Haul

Oops. Every time I decide to minimise my TBR I seem to end up being another load of books, and here’s what I bought this month.

 

 

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte, narrated by Thandie Newton

29934717It was the Audible Daily Deal, okay, so don’t judge me for my fourth copy of Jane Eyre. Jane Eyre, if you hadn’t already guessed is my favourite book, and is the faux-autobiographical story of Jane’s life. From a mistreated orphan, to boarding school, to her first position as a governess, we follow Jane as she tries to make a life for herself. Despite the potentially intimidating length, this is a surprisingly accessible classic, partly die to the first person narration, and I’m sure even more so in audiobook form, so I look forward to trying it out.

Titus Andronicus and Timon of Athens by William Shakespeare (RSC Edition)

10994133.jpgThis month I actually visited Stratford-Upon-Avon for the first time, and got the chance to watch an RSC play. I’ve never actually seen a Shakespeare play live before, so this was super exciting, and I would defiantly recommend. The play we ended up seeing was Titus Andronicus, a gory revenge tragedy, the best sort of tragedy, written early in Shakespeare’s carer, and was a lot of fun. Of course, I had to buy a copy of the play afterwards, and it just so happens to be pared with Timon of Athens. I’m definitely going to be reading Titus pretty soon, while it’s still fresh in my mind.

1606: Shakespeare and the Year of Lear by James Shapiro

29243711Also bought when in Stratford, I knew that I wanted to read this, and had already began to read the sample of my kindle. Not only will this count toward my goal of reading some non-fiction this year, but also a book bought on a trip, for the pop sugar reading challenge. I also found a signed copy in the RSC shop, so I could not leave that there! My Shakespeare tutor always spoke very highly of Shapiro. I’ve never read King Lear, even though it is supposed to by Shakespeare’s most play, I am interested in any form of Revenge Tragedy, and love history, so hello King Lear!

Charles Dickens; A Life by Claire Tomalin

12281647I love a Dickens novel, and unfortunately, the Dickens module wasn’t running when I was in my third year at uni. Even though I only got to read Great Expectations at uni, I (eventually) intend to remedy that, so why not read a biography as I do so. This is pretty huge so I don’t see myself finishing it anytime soon, but it was in the sale in Waterstones, and I figure I can just read odd chapters every now and then. It’s a little bit scruffy on the corners, but has a really nice half-dust jacket thing going for it, and I am there for that. Think of this as my very own Dickens module.

Only Dull People Are Brilliant at Breakfast by Oscar Wilde

29081916This was a birthday gift and my very first little black classic, so only 50 pages is length, full of witty Wilde quotes. This is very cute, and easy to dip in and out of due to both it’s overall length and the fact that it is a book of quotes. It’s also something that I have been meaning to pick up for myself, since the little Wilde that I have read, I have really enjoyed. Also I have a friend who is absolutely obsessed with Wilde, and that sort of thing kind of rubs off. Now, having this one, I not only want to read more Wilde, especially Salome, but also more of the Little Black Classics.

Daughter of the Burning City by Amanda Foody

30237061This was the FairyLoot box for the month of July, for which a full unboxing will be coming soon, and came as a complete surprise. I’d never heard of this book before, or the author, but it is gorgeous! I know that this is a fantasy novel, and sounds like it’s YA, since the main character sounds to be that age. It’s set in a famed carnival, were Sorina works as an illusionist, her magic creating illusions, or so she thinks until one is killed. But how can you kill something that isn’t there? Will a health dose of forbidden romance, this sounds very promising.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (20th Anniversary Edition) by J.K Rowling

31693618Yay, an excuse to get a new copy of Philosopher’s Stone! Like I need an excuse. Actually, I didn’t buy this for myself, but had it for my birthday. Of course I have the hardcover Ravenclaw edition, even though I kind of want the Ravenclaw paperback too, because I am a proud Ravenclaw. The Ravenclaw edition also has some extra little bits about the House, and its’ history, which is always nice. It also, and I’m sure you’ve already seen these books around, has blue and gold sprayed edges, like a scarf. If there’s any book that I do not need to supervise, surely it’s this one!

Zoella and Freinds’ Book Club 2017

My friend and I decided to read all the book for this book club this summer, so between us we bought these books in a bundle. I might do a separate post for these books, but for now here are the books included:

Letters to the Lost by Brigid Kemmerer, Girlhood by Cat Clarke, Moxie by Jennifer Marthieu, The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord, Orbiting Jupiter by Gary D. Schmit, After the Fire by Will Hill and History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera.

 

And finally, we are done! All the books that I bought this month, and all the ones that I have acquired in other ways. I was probably most excited to get the new Harry Potter, and I am considering doing Harry Christmas To You this year, as it’s something that I’ve never done before.

Thanks for reading!

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (20th Anniversary Edition) by J.K Rowling

Yay, an excuse to get a new copy of Philosopher’s Stone! Like I need an excuse. Actually, I didn’t buy this for myself, but had it for my birthday. Of course I have the hardcover Ravenclaw edition, even though I kind of want the Ravenclaw paperback too, because I am a proud Ravenclaw. The Ravenclaw edition also has some extra little bits about the House, and its’ history, which is always nice. If there’s any book that I do not need to supervise, surely it’s this one!

Victoria

 

