August Haul

Happy August! Since I figured I’ve been so good with not buying books for a while I treated myself this month with… Books (obviously!)

The Hating Game by Sally Thorne

25883848This has had a lot of buzz in the BookTube community recently, which s where I first heart about it. Also, since I fell in love with Pride and Prejudice (after my second read), I’ve been craving that love-to-hate relationship trope. This may just be the books that I have been searching for! The Hating Game is… I’m not sure if it’s closed a a re-telling, but I think the two have been compared. This is a rom-com (not my typical choice), about Lucy and Joshua, who are each others nemesis, who work together as assistants to co-CEOs and… well, let’s face it, they’re gonna fall in love…

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

18798983.jpgAfter reading Flame in the Mist a few months back, and absolutely loving it,

I was eager to pick up Renee’s other duology, which is super popular, and here we are. This, as I mentioned, is the first book in a duology, which re-tells the story of A Thousand and One Nights. If you’re not familiar with this story, it’s about a murderous king who takes a new wife every single day, and killing her (I think?), but out protagonist is not about to let that happen to her. Renee has a beautiful narrative voice, and I’m hoping to see more of that in this book.

On Murder Considered as One of the Fine Arts by Thomas de Quincey

24874332This is another Penguin Little Black Classic, just like Only Brilliant People Are Dull at Breakfast (Oscar Wilde) this is super short, and super cheep. What’s not to love? One of my favourite essays is George Orwell’s Decline of the English Murder, which discusses the appeal of murder, on of the most violent of crimes, and its domestication. I’m hoping that this will be similar. As a lover of the murder mystery genre, I find it fascinating that this crime provides such entertainment, and I’m hoping that de Quincey will offer some interesting insights into the attraction of this singular act.

 

Darkfever (Fever #1) by Karen M. Moning

 

6283272I think we all know how much I love the ACoTaR, and maybe more specifically, the male fae population of Prythian (anyone whose name does not rhyme with Pamlin) so when I saw this mentioned on YouTube, alone with the words ‘sexy’, and ‘male’, and ‘fae’ I was sold. Of course the fact that it was 50p for the Kindle edition, didn’t do any harm either. From what I understand that Mac’s sister is murdered, and she rushes off to investigate, which I guess leads her to fae of the sexy sort in Ireland (where else?). Needless to say I don’t this this is all that suitable for younger readers!

 

Batman: Mad Love and Other Stories by Paul Dini and Bruce Timm

13310436Ever since the Suicide squad film last year (a film which is not perfect, but I will defend to the end of the line) I have had a growing obsession with Harley Quinn, and her relationship with the Clown Prince of Crime. Mad Love is her origin story. There is something about the relationship between these two that is so unhealthy, so violent and twisted, and so compelling it always leaves me wanting more. even though I have the episode from Batman the Animated Series that this is taken from (or maybe it’s the other way around), and do know the story, I am excited to hold it in my hands, and obsess over it frame by frame.

 

And those are the books that I have bought this month! Have you read any of these books and, if so, what did you think? If not what is your favourite unhealthy relationship?

Thanks for reading!

Victoria

