August Wrap-Up

After last month, August is the month of catching up, on everything I was supposed to read last month, everything that I’d already started, and those books I wanted to read this month anyway.

Rogue One; A Star Wars Story by Alexander Freed, read by Jonathan Davis 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

30042159What a great start to my month. I’m sure you’ve seen the film, and know exactly what this is about, though like, The Force Awakens novelisation, it does offer more depth to the story. While the girl understandable focuses on Jyn’s character, the novelisation offers more depth to the other characters, especially Cassian, who is my favourite. Although I have the kindle version, I ended up just listening to the audiobook which is fantastic, complimenting the action packed story with music and sound effects, defiantly a worthwhile experience. This is probably my favourite Star Wars story, and I will definitely be re-reading it time and time again.

Orbiting Jupiter by Gary D. Schmidt 🌟🌟

35612899Ah, my second Zoella Book Club book… not as successful as the first one by any means.

Our narrator, Jack, tells the story of his new foster brother, Joseph, who, at 13 got a girl pregnant, and tried to kill a teacher. Oh, and one more thing, Jack is such a boring narrator, you wouldn’t even believe. Jack is such a lifeless character, to the extent that it really serves as a wall between the reader and the narrative. As a result, no matter how interesting, unexpected, and tragic, Joseph’s story may be, it’s almost impossible to feel any empathy for him. On the plus side it’s an aesthetically pleasing book, and very short.

Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen 🌟🌟🌟

18300264This was really a novel of two parts for me, which makes it kind of hard to rate. Our protagonist, our heroine, Catherine Moreland is invited by some new aquainteces in Bath to their family home, Northanger Abbey. As a fan of gothic novels, Catherine is predicting a fabulously gothic home, filled with ghosts, secrets, and other staples of the genre. Everything that took place in Northanger was great, with amusing satire from Austen, thanks both to description, and the dialogue between Catherine and Henry. It was everything before and after the Abbey, that just felt a little bit tedious, however I anticipate that, on a second read, I will come to love this novel.

Wilde Like Me by Louise Pentland 🌟🌟🌟

32498973.jpgThis book definitely succeeded in restoring my faith in easy-breezy summer contemporaries, after my last foray into the genre, and I do love a good summer contemporary. Wilde Like Me, introduces us to Robin Wilde, make-up artist, and single mum, who doesn’t quite have it all together. Robin, as a narrator, is hilarious, without trying too hard, though sometimes you do want to intervene on her behalf. The plot is fine, in continuous movement, it’s the characterisation that truly shines Pentland’s book feels honest, and heartwarming, creating vivid characters that remain with you even after the final page.

Six of Crows (SoC #1) by Leigh Bardugo 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

23437156How do I love Six of Crows? Let me count the ways… If you don’t know, and you should by now, since I mention this duology pretty frequently, this is a heist story. I love heists (hit me up with your heist recommendations if you have any), so this plot was always going to be a winner for me. But, on my fourth read, what really stands out is just how exciting this story still is after all this time. It’s a quick read, respite the enormous size of this paperback, and it also manages to have a lot of character depth. You have six protagonists, five of which have their own POVs and yet we also get these intricate backstories. Basically I could talk about the perfection of this book all day, every day, so don’t get me started!

City of Ashes (The Mortal Instruments #2) by Cassie Clare 🌟🌟🌟

33597758This is the second book in the series, and while it’s not the strongest in terms of moving the overall plot forward it is still a lot of fun. Without spoiling anything if you haven’t read this series (but seriously who hasn’t?) City of Ashes deals with the fallout from the events of the previous book, as any good sequel does. We’r introduced to a new character, Maya, a werewolf who really opens up this world for us, as we begin to learn about the different factions at play. Also, the Clave plays a much bigger role, which sets us up nicely for the events of the next book, which is one of my favourites, so bring on City of Glass!

Beautiful Stranger (Beautiful Bastard #2) by Christina Lauren 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

16117506Another second book in a series, I must be on a roll! Well, I say series, but they’re probably better described as companion books, with each book following two new protagonists, who all seem to hang out in the same circles. This time, we’re with Sarah and Max, both hot shots in the world of business, but one who is coming out of a traumatic break-up with her ex-boyfrined. I’m not going to lie, and say that they’re more to the story, because it it a love story, and their relationship this the focal point of the narrative. But these books are well-written, addictive, and sometimes you just need some Christina Lauren in your life.

Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4) by Sarah J. Maas 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

25071003This is my favourite Throne of Glass book to date, and I am happy to still be able to say that after four reads of this beauty. I’m sure I always talk about this book, but here goes nothing; Queen of Shadows is the fourth book in a YA, fantasy series involving, dragons, witches, magic (Kind of), lost princesses, kingdoms, rebellion and a kick ass female protagonist. There is something about this book that just ticks all the boxes for everything I knew I waned, and everything I didn’t, then ties it up with a bow. If you’ve started this series and were not completely on board, just wait till this book before making your decision. You will not regret it!

Harley Quinn, Volume 1: Die Laughing
by Amanda Conner, Jimmy Palmotti, Chad Hardin and John Timms 🌟🌟🌟🌟

31223941I finally finished it! Even though it’s a graphic novel, and pretty short this took me ages to finish. Why? I have no idea, because this was great! Die Laughing is made up of six comics, and two story arcs, both of which were brilliant. The first follows Harley as she goes up against a zombie outbreak, and the second as she goes undercover as a punk rock singer to solve the death of her favourite mailman. Both stories were a lot of fun, well written, and had a great balance of characters. As I’m pretty new to the world of graphic novels, I was relieved to find them easy to follow without being overly simplified. The only thing I would say is that re are two artists, and I preferred one style to the other, but it was no where near as the tragedy of Man On The Wall. Ultimately I’m dying to get my hands on the next one, and for more of my favourite harlequin.

All in all, even though I haven’t quite hit my original goals (Let’s be real, I was nowhere near!) I am pretty pleased with what I read and the amount I read, and the books that I read.

Highlight was.. Six of Crows, how could it not, and lowlight has to ave been Orbiting Jupiter (Sorry!)

What was the best book you read tis month? Did we read any of the same books? What your favourite romantic book?

Let me know down in the comments!

Thanks for reading!

Victoria
