September TBR

It’s September. It’s September and I am not in school (or looking at going back to school soon), what is this madness. While I’m not in school, here are the books that I am hoping to read this month

 

Tower of Dawn (Throne of Glass #6) by Sarah J. Maas

33306347This is pretty much a given, right? I mean, it’s Sarah. J. Maas. Still, Chaol is not my favourite character, and The Assassin’s Blade is not my favourite books. Of course I’ve pre-ordered the next stage to this saga, and I’m sure I’ll be reading it the day it comes out, but I’d be surprised if I read it at the pace I usually read her new releases. Unlike the previous books, the main character of this is Chaol Westfall, a favourite of a lot of people, and Nesryn Faliq, who are journeying to the Southern Continent, to find the best healers around, because they really need a healer after the events of Queen of Shadows.

 

Wicked Like A Wildfire by Lana Popovic

32051720.jpgThis was the August FairyLoot book of the month, and regardless of the plot, it is gorgeous. You can see the cover here, but it’s also a gorgeous colour underneath that soft, matte dust jacket. Being from FairyLoot this is a YA, fantasy novel, and to be frank with you the blurb is pretty confusing, at least, I cannot get my head around it. From what I do understand, in this world people have a ‘gleam’, a sort o magic power, and it revolves around two twins, and their mother, all of whom posses different ‘gleams’. When their mother is attacked it’s down to the girls to solve the mystery of a curse that haunts their family.

 

City of Glass (The Mortal Instruments #3) by Cassie Clare

33597722I’m jumping back on the Shadowunters wagon with this third book, and the best out of this first arc of the series, at least in my opinion.  Finally, after hearing too much about it, we are going to Idris, the Shadowhunter country (or is Alicante the country, I can’t remember), but we are leaving NYC. Picking up where the last book left off, and Clary is on a mission to save her mother, the mundanes, the downworlders, and the shadowhunters. Nothing new there, right? Theres more Jace-angst, more sass, and more heartbreak in this conclusion to the first half go the series.

 

Batman; Mad Love and Other Stories by Paul Dini, and Bruce Timm

13310436After reading the there-are-no-wrods-to-describe-accuralry-the-perfection-of The Killing Joke last year, it was high time to get the origin story of the one, the only, Harley Quinn. Technically, sine I’ve already seen the Mad Love episode of Batman; the Animated Series, and may have seen Suicide Squad once or twice (or thrice) I do know her origin story, but I probably can’t see it too many times. As I may ave mentioned before I am fascinated by the relationship between Harley and the Joker, and this story is integral to that. There are also a couple of other stories in this collection, and I’m sure they’ll be great.

 

Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2) by Leigh Bardugo

22299763Since I visited the Ice Court last month, I figured I may as well finish up my time in Ketterdam the proper way, with Crooked Kingdom. In my defence it’s been a while since I’ve mentioned Crooked Kingdom specifically, and a whole year since it came out, and since I last read it. Crooked Kingdom, being a sequel, continues from the ‘thing’, you know the thing, that happens in the last few pages of Six of Crows. You also get everyone’s POVs, including Wylan’s, so you really get to see these guys in even more depth than the last book. There’s more thievery, more adventure, more kruger, and even some waffles!

 

Girlhood by Cat Clarke

26224552This is another one from Zoella’s Book club 2017, and yes I am (slowly) making my way through them. Girlhood is, of course, a YA contemporary, which given Solitaire (which still haunts me all these months later) and Orbiting Jupiter, I seem to have a fear of.  Ridiculous, I know, so I am buckling down and reading  this one. Girlhood is s a softy about friendship amidst a group of girls in an expensive boarding school.Our protagonist Harper, as worked hard to fit in, and amass her group of friends but hen the new girl shows up she feels intimidated. Hopefully this will win me back to the genre!

 

As you can tell this is a (slightly) smaller TBR, but I really want to finish everything that I’ve already started, so  I’ll also be reading Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeline Thien, and reading/listening to Emma by Jane Austen.

What are you reading this month? Do you want to read any of these books?

Thanks for reading!

Victoria

