September Haul

So, technically I am on a book buying ban, but… well… I bought some books… a lot of books!

 

 

Tower of Dawn (Throne of Glass #6) by Sarah J. Maas

33306347Of course this was preordered, so doesn’t really count, and then I cancelled the kindle preorder so I could go and spend more money on the the Waterstones edition, just for the exclusive artwork. Anyway, this is, as I’m sure you know, the 6th book in the Throne of Glass series, usually I give the whole young assassin spiel but I feel like we’re so beyond that now. Tower of Dawn follows a different POV, and takes place at the same time as the events of Empire of Storms, as two of our characters go on their own adventure to the Southern Continent. Although they’re not my favourite characters I have a feeling they might be able to win me over…

Wonder Woman; Warbringer (DC Icons #1) by Leigh Bardugo

29749085Since it was buy-one-get-one-half-price I of course was forced to buy two books on my Waterstones trip. I many have mentioned my love for DC Comics once or twice, especially in the from of Harley Quinn, so understandably I was pretty excited at the prospect of this DC Icons series. I thought that the Owner Woman film earlier in the year was brilliant, and I can’t wait to experience Leigh Bardugo’s (of Six of Crows fame) interpretation of this iconic character. From the blurb I’m not really sure when this story takes place, but I’m sure it will prove to be a wild ride, as Diana saves the world.

The Romanovs by Simon Sebag Montefiore

31378962I promise I didn’t just but this book because it’s gorgeous… well, that might have helped a little bit. Russia is a country I would really love to visit, mostly due to it’s really interesting history, but while I say that, other than the bare bones of the revolution I don’t actually know much about the history. However, that’s going to change with this book. This is a non-fiction book that recounts the history  of the Romanovs, the ruling monarchs of Russia for about 300 years, so it’s no surprise that this thing is massive. I don’t know how long it will take me to read this thing, but I look forward to the challenge!

Decline of the English Murder by George Orwell

6733384.jpgLast month I bought On Murder Considered as One of the Fine Arts by Thomas de Quincey, and I mentioned in that haul how much I love this Orwell essay. Well, since it was on my mind, I found this really cute copy in… yep, you’ve guessed it, Waterstones. This is a collection of essays, from George Orwell, all to do with the one central theme; crime. It’s not too long, maybe 150 pages, so would be a really quick, and interesting read. What I’ve read of Orwell already, I really like is voice, and I look forward to more of his isight on crime. If the others are anything like the titular essay, I know I’ll love them.

His Dark Materials (Northern Lights, The Subtle Knife and The Amber Spyglass) by Phillip Pullman

I’ve wanted to read this series for a while, ever since I read Once Upon a Time in the North, when I was a lot younger, but never got round to it. Why? Because I am absolutely terrible at reading the whole series of anything. With the announcement of a new book in the series, or maybe just this world, coming soon, it has renewed my interest in the series. Also, the fact that these books were 99p each, as part of the Kindle Daily Deal earlier in the month, didn’t hurt. I defiantly want to read these in time for the new release, or at the very least before the end of the year.

 

 

And there you have it, the success of my book-buying-ban… Let’s hope that October is a lot more successful. I have ordered September’s FairyLoot, and was waiting as long as possible so that I could include it in this post. Alas, it was not to be!

What’s your favourite book that you bought this month? Have you read any of these books, and what did you think? Are you a fan of Phillip Pullman?

Thanks for reading!

Victoria

