September Wrap-Up

Happy September fellow readers! Unfortunately it has not been a very productive month for me, I started off so well, but I really don’t know what happened mid-month. Still, this is what I did manage to read.

Daughter of the Burning City by Amanda Foody 🌟🌟🌟🌟

30237061I picked this up, kind of on a whim, and kind of because I wanted some high fantasy, and while it didn’t really give me high fantasy I still really liked it. This book is set in Gomorrah, a travelling city/carnival, and is told from the point of view of Sorina, an illusionist, whose illusions start getting murdered. While I struggled, initially, to get into this world, once I had a feel for the way it worked, and the writing style it flowed a lot smoother. There was also a lot of representation in terms of sexuality, that I won’t specify, in case it’s a spoiler. I would recommend this book, but give yourself time to get used to the world, and it will pay off in the end.

You can see more of my thoughts in this *spoiler free* review right HERE!

Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeline Thien 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

34658262Wow! This book was simply astounding. There are two distinct storylines that eventually blur into one seamless tale chronicles in intertwined lives of two Chinese families. I had absolutely no prior knowledge of the turbulent history of China, and that history bleeds into the stunningly beautiful prose so subtly and yet it is a huge part of the plot. At it’s core Do Not Say We Have Nothing, is about people, it’s about families, and it’s about a hope for the future, that defies the violence of the present. Frankly, I cannot understand why this was not the winner of the Man Booker 2016, being miles out of the league of the other books I’ve read so far.

Girlhood by Cat Clarke 🌟🌟🌟

26224552This was exactly what I needed to welcome me back into the arms of contemporary YA, after my previous disappointments. Girlhood is set in a girls boarding school, and revolves around a group of four friends in their final year of high school, leading up to the Christmas holidays, and it’s a lot of fun. I really enjoyed this story of how the new girl, Kirsty, finds her feet thanks to Harper, and how this new friendship affects her old ones. The only one thing that disappointed me was the finale, I was spinning some WILD theories and in comparison it was a little bit of a let down. Other than that a great YA, and I’d love to read more from Cat Clarke.

Mad Love and Other Stories by Paul Dini and Bruce Timm 🌟🌟🌟🌟

13310436You’ve gotta realise that I am a huge Harley fan girl, by now right? Well, you can’t love Harley and not want to read her origins story! Mad Love is her origin story, and while it was great, and plays on the comedic elements a little more than other versions (I’m looking at you Suicide Squad) it doesn’t really add to what I already knew. Still worth it though! I also loved Two of a Kind, what can I say? I’m can’t resist a poisonous relationship! Overall this was a really nice collection of shorter stories, but, understandably, lacking the depth of longer graphic novels, but, then again, I can’t imagine anything quite reach the hights of The Killing Joke 🀑

Don’t forget to check out my full *spoiler free* review of this right HERE!

Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2) by Leigh Bardugo 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

22299763It took me absolutely ages to finishes Crooked Kingdom, and not because it’s a bad book in any way, because, as I’m sure you know, I adore this duology! No, it took me forever because I was trying to avoid a certain thing that happens, you know THE thing, but no such luck, it still happened and I still cried. Crooked Kingdom, really is the perfect ending because while there is heartbreak it’s balanced perfectly with joy, and with hope. Bardugo’s plot it succinct, tightly-woven, and, most importantly, provides a satisfying conclusion to this arc. With reflections on grief, revenge and hope for the future, Crooked Kingdom will remain a firm favourite for a long, long time.

Tower of Dawn (Throne of Glass #6) by Sarah J. Maas 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

33306347Can you hear me screaming? Honestly, I did not put much stock into this book. I was always going to read it, because it’s a Sarah J. Maas book, but Chaol has never been my favourite character, and I’m not really a fan of novellas. The real question is how did this 700 page book, ever fit into a novella Tower of Dawn is an amazing addition to the arc, and world of Throne of Glass, even if you’re not a Chaol fan. There are even a few plot twists thrown in for good measure, that had me screaming! Even if you weren’t the biggest fan of Empire of Storms, I think you’ll like this one. The worst part? That I have to wait so long for the finale!

 

City of Glass (The Mortal Instruments #3) by Cassandra Clare 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

33597722This remains as a real turning point in this series, for me at least, and I still feel this way after reading it four times. In comparison to the first two book, City of Glass really showcases Cassie’s talent in Β way that makes you want to read more. This third instalment, draws to a close the initial arc, but as we know there are plenty more books to come. Cassie does not pull any punches, at at this point in the arc, that’s exactly what you need, by balancing the humour and tragedy, against a backdrop of frantic action and forced inaction, City of Glass is the best in the series (so far, the only way is up).

Wicked Like a Wildfire (Hibiscus Daughters #1) by Lana Popovic 🌟🌟🌟

32051720This was the FairyLoot book from their August box (and you can see exactly what was in that box right HERE), but wasn’t what I consider to be fantasy. Instead, this urban fantasy offering is set in the “otherworld” of Montenegro… so, so very otherworldly. This book is perfectly okay. There are no huge problems, other than a slow start, but it just wasn’t for me. Having been told that they can never fall in love, Was waiting for a forbidden romance, but the book is kind of lacking in the romance department. There was a plot twist, but to be honest it’s kind of presented and resolved in two chapters, which was disappointing. Also, a very anticlimactic event toward the end, that really did nothing. I’m not saying I hate this book, but it was just fine, I’m glad I read it, but it’s not going to have a big impact on me.

 

 

And there you have it, all of my September reads. My favourite HAS to be… Tower of Dawn, which shouldn’t surprise me, but still does!

What was your favourite book you read this month? What is your favourite high fantasy series?

Thanks for reading!

Victoria

