October TBR

Now that we are officially into Autumn, these are the books that I am hoping to read.

 

An Ember in the Ashes and A Torch Against the Night (Ember #1 & #2) by Sabaa Tahir

 

I am rereading these two to fill the Tahir shaped hole in my life, an I impatiently await the third book. Even though that third book, A Reaper At the Gates, isn’t supposed to be here until April, I have waited long enough to re-read them that I cannot possibly wait any longer. Ember is a fantasy novel  set in a Ancient-Rome-esque society, where we follow Elias, a soldier, about to run away, and Laia, a slave, trying to save her brother. Whenever I think about this series it just makes me feel so happy, and I cannot wait.

The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr

30849412This is another one of the Zoella Bookclub books for this year, and my friend, who’s bookclub-ing with me, absolutely loved it, so I have high expectations. I used to love to read about characters with amnesia, so hopefully I’m going to love it too, because our protagonist, Flora Banks, has no short-term memory. Admittedly I am getting 50 First Dates/ Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac vibes here. So, she had no short-term memory, until she remembers one thing- kissing her best friend’s boyfriend. Convinced that this boy is the key she agrees to meet him halfway across the world, and while this sounds like fun, I hope it’s not a-boy-will-fix you story.

Moxie by Jennifer Mathieu

35383830There has been a lot of buzz around this book, and it’s been building for a while now, so I’m looking forward to seeing what it’s all about. Moxie, is another one of the Zoella Bookclub books, this one taking place in a small-town, Texan high school, where Viv, our protagonist, is sick of the misogynistic treatment coming from the boys. She decides to create a zine that she distributes in the girls bathrooms, in order to remind them that they have a voice, and that they matter. I’m hoping that Moxie will be super uplifting, and a real feel-good YA contemporary.

Night Film by Marisha Pessl

18770398This is another re-read, and I’m pretty sure I’m reading it around the same time of year, but this is no coincidence, because I found Night Film kind of creepy. Disclaimer: I get scared very easily, and this is not, by any means, a horror novel. Our protagonist, Scott McGrath is an investigative reported, who lost is credibility after publishing an article about the famously reclusive cult horror film director, Stanislas Cordova. When his daughter, Ashley, turns up dead, Scott does not believe it to be a suicide, as the police claim, and decides this could be his chance to prove himself right, and earn back the respect of his peers.

A Gathering of Shadows (ADSOM #2) by V.E. Schwab

26236443In case you haven’t heard, V.E Schwab is one of my all time favourite authors, and I just want to be continuously reading her books. This is one of my all-time favourite series’ and everyone should read it. This series takes place in a world in which there are four parallel versions of London (Red London, White London, Grey London and Black London), each with varying levels of magic. Of course, all is not well, despite this in Red London the Olympics of magic is taking place, drawing competitions from all over to try their luck. Expect dashing pirates, handsome princes, brooding magicians and the indescribable, Miss Delilah Bard.

His Dark Materials (Northern Lights, The Subtle Knife, The Amber Spyglass) by Philip Pullman

 

Didn’t I say that I wanted to read these pretty soon? Well, lo and behold, here they are on my TBR. I barely know a thing about the plot of this series, and the blurb for Northern Lights isn’t all that helpful. But that doesn’t matter because I know so many people rave about these books. What I do know is that they’re set in a fantasy world in which your soul appears in a physical manifestation, known as a daemon. Sounds like fun!

 

 

I’ll also be reading bits and pieces of 1606; Shakespeare and the Year of Lear by James Shapiro, but it’s not something that I’m rushing to finish.

 

Have you ready any of these books, and what did you think? What’s your favourite Halloween book? What are you planning on reading this month?

 

Thanks for reading!

Victoria

One thought on “October TBR

  1. Rebecca Skane says:

    Night Film is awesome! I hope you love it as much as I did. I have read Tahir’s books but my best reading buddy loved them so I can’t wait to get to them. As far as Schwab goes, I have the entire trilogy on my nightstand ready to go! I am so excited to start that series! Just a few more books ahead of it.
    Rebecca @ The Portsmouth Review
    Follow me on Bloglovin’

    Like

Comments are closed.