October Book Haul

Happy October! I’ll make this short and sweet, so you can get back to your Halloween celebrations, so, here are the books that I bought this month!

 

Turtles All The Way Down

35521513Much like every other person in the Bookish community, I was in love with John Green around the time The Fault in Our Stars, sometimes referred to as TFIOS came out. Since then, he’d sort of fallen off my radar a little bit, and while Looking For Alaska has stuck with me, I admired to myself that there was a disconnect between myself as a reader and his writing. While I did no pre-order this book, I did end up getting hold of a copy, and it being such a slim little thing, ended up reading it in one day, but more on that in my Wrap-Up (coming soon!). I didn’t know a thing about this book going into it, so all I’m going to say is that it’s a mental-heath focused contemporary about a teenage girl with OCD.

 

Even The Darkest Stars

33385230I put off posting my September Haul for the longest time in anticipation of this book, which came in the September FairyLoot box. Of course it didn’t arrive, and I posed without. Even the Darkest Stars, which has a pretty cover, and a lovely title, is YA Fantasy about two sisters, who are reading each other to the summit of a mountain. I’ll be honest, this is not the most exciting premise that I’ve ever heard, but I’ve had some great books from FairyLoot in the past, and I will read it regardless. Maybe I’ll write a review for it? Let me know if you’d be interested in that!

 

When a Scot Ties the Knot

23587120You probably won’t believe me when I tell you that this is a romance book. I don’t tend to read romances, I mean I have read some brilliant ones (hello, Coleen Hoover!), but it’s not something that I gravitate to. However, after hearing Sasha Alsberg talk about this all the time, I decided to try the Kindle sample, and I knew I needed it. Our protagonist, Maddie, in order to get out of having to search for a husband invents a Scottish sweetheart. She writes him all these letters, when, a couple of years later, said Scottish Captain shows up on her doorstep. And that is all in the prologue! Just know that it’s your looking for a saucy little historical romance, this is it.

 

The Martian

31686251Short story? Kindle Daily Deal. Adored the film. Long story? The Martian had been on my radar since before the film, because, yes, I am just that cool. But in all seriousness, this is the story of Mark Watney, NASA’s astronaut-botonist, who accidentally gets left behind by the rest of his crew, due to the belief that he was killed in an unexpected sandstorm. But, of course, he is very much alive. As I mentioned, this was adapted into a film which is a really great film in it’s own right, though I can’t say, as of yet, weather it’s a good adaptation. If it’s half as good as the film this may just be a new favuorite.

 

Considering I wasn’t supped to be buying ANY books this month, I haven’t done amazingly, but it’s not too much of a disaster. Some of these books were on my kindle, and if they don’t take up shelf-space they don’t count.

What did you buy this month? Have you read any of these books and what did you think of them? What would you be most interested in seeing me review?

Thanks for reading!

Victoria
3 thoughts on “October Book Haul

  1. Kathy @ Books & Munches says:

    I loved Turtles All The Way Down! It was my first ever John Green novel and I’ve picked up Looking for Alaska after that. I need to get myself on more of his books, haha.

    Even the Darkest Stars is one on my TBR as well – yay FairyLoot! – but I have no clue when I’ll read it.. So many books to read. :’D

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.